The Forbidden Garden

A Novel

    • 4.5 • 15 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

“Captivating [...] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love.” —Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story, waiting to be told…

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried—and failed—to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house’s history—especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls—and increasingly drawn to Stella’s enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden’s destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets…

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
April 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow Paperbacks
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Marina Ariadne ,

When’s the next one out?

Lots of intertwined story arcs. I bought this one immediately after finishing The Sparrow Sisters, and of course now I want to know what comes next.

This story takes place nine months or so after TSS. Makes me want to visit Kew Gardens, the Chelsea Physic Garden, and a few more Thames-side parks when next (please!!!) I visit London. It will be necessary to work off as many cream and afternoon teas I want to enjoy whilst there.

Gardeners, historians, folks fond of gustatory delights, folks earth-centered spirituality, herbalists, and kindred spirits will enjoy this book.

More Books by Ellen Herrick

Customers Also Bought

2014
2019
2021
2020
2015
2016