The Forgotten Girls The Forgotten Girls

The Forgotten Girls

A completely heartbreaking World War 2 historical novel

    • 4.2 • 39 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

It’s a photograph of two little girls, the camera catching the cold whiteness of their legs, the pretty lines of their dresses, the smooth surface of the lake. I know at once it’s my mother and Aunty Barbara, I’ve always known it somehow. But I also know that the camera doesn’t tell the whole story. It can’t.


London, 1943. German bombs rain down on London, but Elaine Parker knows her job transcribing letters from far-away prisoners of war is more important than her own safety. But at home, Elaine’s life isn’t so simple – as the main breadwinner for her struggling family, she doesn’t have much time to consider her own future hopes and dreams.

 

And then Elaine meets dark-haired and passionate Bobby – a wartime photographer on the dangerous front line – and her world shifts. Will Elaine be forced to choose between her family and her growing passion for Bobby? And how do you let yourself love someone with your whole heart when each moment could be their last?


Present day. Even the kiss of warm sunshine and the musical call of birds at her family’s countryside villa can’t make Jen forget the heartbreak she’s left behind. That is, until she begins to investigate the origins of a tattered family photograph: two sweet little girls gazing out across a sparkling bay, their eyes clear and hopeful – looking for all the world as if England hadn’t just suffered the most terrible war imaginable. What is the story behind the picture, and could it finally be the key to mending the cracks in Jen’s own past? 


A heartbreaking World War Two novel – emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of Orphan Train, Sold on a Monday and Before We Were Yours.


What readers are saying about The Forgotten Girls


‘Twists and turns that keep you turning the page… I must read one more chapter before I turn out the light for the nightfans who enjoyed The Nightingale or Sold on a Monday will love this book as much as me. Authentic, heart-tugging and soul-stirring. Be sure to have tissues nearby.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A heartbreaking tale of life in 1943 living through the war… One of the best historical fiction books I have read in a long while.’ Sean’s Book Reviews, 5 stars


‘It not only brought tears to my eyes when the connection between the two women was revealed, but it pulled on my heartstrings all the way through the book. A story of love and loss, family and friendships, this book will keep you gripped until the very last page. Would definitely recommend.’ Stardust Book Reviews


‘I came to really love the blossoming romance between Robert and Elaine… A beautiful novel, and one I highly recommend.’ Emily Claire Writes


‘A captivating story.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I absolutely loved The Forgotten Girls. It is a beautiful, compelling read… Lizzie Page writes like a dream… I will be recommending this book to everyone I know.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I really fell in love with this book… Beautifully done, the imagery is well written and I found myself picturing the scenes and living them out in my mind's eye. Well done!’ Goodreads reviewer


Oh, how I loved this book! I smiled, cried, my heart raced and I marvelled at the storytelling… Wonderful!’ Angela Petch, author of The Tuscan Girl, 5 stars


‘I just love the deft and thrilling blend of fact and fiction, and the way Lizzie Page brings characters from the past back to life. I am such a huge fan of her work.’ Bestselling author Jill Mansell

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
February 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
478
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3.8
MB

More Books Like This

The Islanders The Islanders
2019
My One True North My One True North
2020
Nadia Knows Best Nadia Knows Best
2012
Christmas At Riverview Inn Christmas At Riverview Inn
2020
Dreams for Stones Dreams for Stones
2015
The Queen of New Beginnings The Queen of New Beginnings
2011

More Books by Lizzie Page

The Orphanage The Orphanage
2021
When I Was Yours When I Was Yours
2019
Daughters of War Daughters of War
2018
The Wartime Nanny The Wartime Nanny
2020
The War Nurses The War Nurses
2018

Customers Also Bought

The Runaway Sisters The Runaway Sisters
2020
The Orphan House The Orphan House
2020
The Soldier's Girl The Soldier's Girl
2018
The Child Without a Home The Child Without a Home
2022
Her Darkest Hour Her Darkest Hour
2020
The Violin Maker's Daughter The Violin Maker's Daughter
2019