• $2.99

Publisher Description

From the Author of Hardwired comes…
One small town.
One lost love.
One killer.
Agent Caitlin Cade is called back to her hometown by a serial killer. She’s avoided the town for six years, trying to create a new life away from the painful memories of the sudden passing of her father and a love lost.
Dean Campbell was given a mission that forced him to walk away from the only woman he had ever loved. Just as his mission is over and he can return to her news reaches him that a serial killer has Caitlin caught in a deadly game.
Can Dean handle not being the one in control in order to show Caitlin he’s back for good? Can Caitlin not only face her past but also a killer who always seems two steps ahead of her? As a game of chess plays out using human bodies, secrets and lies come to see the light of day for the first time.

Mysteries & Thrillers
May 6
Andrea Bills
Smashwords, Inc.

Customer Reviews

Mongrel2014 ,

Wonderful story

Depression, abuse, wickedness. All too real I am afraid. I work in the field of mental illness and this is very believable. I find the story sad, depressing but interesting because it is real. I hope others will read it too and try to understand.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

Bill in WV ,

Story of love, loss and a killer bent on revenge and destruction

When Dean was introduced in Hardwired, I knew whatever his story was it was going to be a roller coaster of emotions and it does not disappoint. This romantic suspense is Dean’s story of love, loss and a killer bent on revenge and destruction.

Drawn back to their hometown by a killer who stages the victims to send them a message, Navy Seal Dean Campbell and his ex and FBI agent Caitlin Cade must put their past aside and work together. For Dean its easy, he’s there to help solve the case and win back the only woman he’s ever loved. Caitlin wants nothing to do with Dean as a partner in the case or in life. His duty caused him to leave her before and she’s not willing to give him a second chance to do it again. Working together to stop the killer, both will have to come to terms with the past, survive the present and believe in the future. The past where all of this began and a killer who seems to know it as well as they do. The present where every murder and every clue is more gruesome than the one before. The future a question mark, because they must both survive first.

When the killer strikes too close to Caitlin, Dean makes a phone call and has himself put in charge of the investigation. After securing Caitlin in a safe house Dean thinks he can focus on solving the case until she sneaks out and heads right into killer’s plan. Dean finds himself in a race against time to figure out the killer’s identity, find their location and rescue Caitlin. What is he willing to do or sacrifice to ensure the safety of the woman he loves?

Dean and Caitlin are the couple you root for and want to see not only survive but find their way back to each other. Both are headstrong, stubborn and determined to stand their ground, will their battle with each other get in the way of the stopping the killer? A killer that is methodical, in the choice of victims, their death and their discovery, who is not playing by any rules but their own. In a small town where everyone knows everyone and everything about you, the killer could be anyone.

The ending is completely unexpected and will leave you shocked. Andrea’s detailed descriptions, explanations, and vivid story telling make this story come to life. By the end of the book the only question remaining is how long do I have to wait to read the next book in the series?

munkygurlkmk ,

Had me on the edge of my seat!!!

I absolutely loved how this book had me on the edge of my seat! The way Andrea Bills wrote Dean’s story was absolutely perfect! Mystery, Suspense, and Love all bundled in this beautifully written story! Definitely a Must read but absolutely recommend reading HARDWIRED first like I did!!!

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

More Books by Andrea Bills

Other Books in This Series