The Forgotten Palace The Forgotten Palace

The Forgotten Palace

A unforgettable timeslip novel from Alexandra Walsh

    • 4.4 • 10 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

Two women, a hundred years apart, discover the tale of Ariadne in the Labyrinth, and a story lost to time. For all the readers who fell in love with retellings from Madeline Miller and Natalie Haynes...

'Scintillating, skilful and spellbinding, beautifully written and researched' Bestselling author of The Witch's Tree, Elena Collins

London 1900

Alice Webster has made the worst decision of her life. When her Aunt Agatha offers her the chance to go on a Grand Tour she jumps at the opportunity to get away from the glare of scandal. Heading off to see the world as the century turns, Alice begins to believe her broken heart can be healed, and a chance encounter on a train bound for Paris changes everything. When their journey takes them to a Cretan house thick with history, and the world-famous dig at Knossos, stories from the past begin to echo through Alice’s life.

London Present Day

Eloise De’Ath is meant to be a grieving widow. But if people knew the truth about her late husband, they’d understand why she can’t even pretend. Needing to escape, Eloise heads to Crete and the house her father-in-law Quinn left her, and slowly Quinn’s home begins to reveal its mysteries. In his office Eloise discovers his life’s work: the study of the Victorian excavation to find the Minotaur’s labyrinth. Fascinated by the diaries of a young woman from the dig, Eloise is drawn into Alice’s tale of lost love and her growing obsession with Ariadne, the princess of the labyrinth.

Three women divided by time but connected by the long-hidden secrets of the past. As their stories join in a golden thread, a terrible injustice might finally be undone…

This unforgettable timeslip novel is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Elena Collins and Diana Gabaldon.

Praise for Alexandra Walsh:

'Alexandra Walsh weaves a perfectly crafted dual timeline tale that will enthral and delight the reader from the first words until the very last sparkling moment.' Elena Collins

'I absolutely loved this beautifully written and characterful novel which intrigued me as it moves seamlessly between 1900 and the present with a throwback to Theseus and The Minotaur of ancient Crete.’ Carol McGrath

'Alexandra Walsh is a master storyteller and does historical time hops so well. The mystery, the intrigue and beautiful storytelling is ever present in The Forgotten Palace, as it is in all Alex’s novels. The plot, mixed with the Greek mythology, and characters make her latest fiction another masterpiece and one that stays with you a long time after you turn the last page.’ Michelle Rawlins

What readers are saying about Alexandra Walsh:

'As much as I wanted (needed) to know what the links between the past and present were, I also didn't want this book to end, as I became so captivated and drawn to the characters. A great read that feeds the soul. I'm so looking forward to the author's next book .'

'I enjoyed this book so much that I read it in one lengthy sitting of eight hours. It contains everything I love in a book, interesting believable characters , mystery and a story that grabs you from the very first page.'

'A host of characters populate this wonderful timeshift novel, all necessary and beautifully woven together in this compelling multi-generational family tale. I couldn't put it down - it kept me awake way beyond lights out time until I finally finished reading it.'

'Very cleverly written, how someone can come up with a story as complex as this one I think is nothing short of amazing. I love the way both Victorian and modern day is nicely tied up. This has to be the best timeshift story I have ever read. High recommendation from me.'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
April 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
391
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SELLER
Boldwood Books Ltd
SIZE
725.4
KB

More Books Like This

The Dark Lady's Mask The Dark Lady's Mask
2016
The Secrets of Crestwell Hall The Secrets of Crestwell Hall
2024
The Secret of Provence House The Secret of Provence House
2020
The Tutor The Tutor
2015
The Collector's Daughter The Collector's Daughter
2021
Miss Garnet's Angel Miss Garnet's Angel
2013

More Books by Alexandra Walsh

Customers Also Bought

The Lost Notebook The Lost Notebook
2022
New Dreams at Polkerran Point New Dreams at Polkerran Point
2023
The Corner Shop on Foxmore Green The Corner Shop on Foxmore Green
2023
A Date To Die For A Date To Die For
2023
The Ragged Valley The Ragged Valley
2022
The Cat Who Caught a Killer The Cat Who Caught a Killer
2022