• $5.99

Publisher Description

London, 1914: one ordinary day, three girls arrive for work at London’s renowned Foyles bookshop. But when war with Germany is declared their lives will never be the same again...

Alice has always been the 'sensible' one in her family – especially in comparison with her suffrage-supporting sister! But decidedly against her father's wishes, she accepts a job at Foyles Bookshop; and for bookworm Alice it's a dream come true.

But with the country at war, Alice's happy world is shattered in an instant. Determined to do what she can, Alice works in the bookshop by day, and risks her own life driving an ambulance around bomb-ravaged London by night. But however busy she keeps herself, she can't help but think of the constant danger those she loves are facing on the frontline...

Alice, Victoria and Molly couldn't be more different and yet they share a friendship that stems back to their childhood – a friendship that provides everyday solace from the tribulations and heartbreak of war. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry.

Look out for the next book in the series, The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War.

June 1
Head of Zeus
Head of Zeus

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Engaging novel

The Foyles Bookshop Girls by Elaine Roberts is the first story in The Foyles Girls series. Alice Taylor works at W & G Foyles Bookstore on Charring Cross Road in London with her friends Victoria Appleton and Molly Cooper. Victoria is responsible for her two younger siblings since their parents died four and a half years earlier. Molly is in love with Tony Fletcher who likes to flirt with every woman he encounters. Alice comes from a well-to-do family and her father, Luke has very rigid ideas for women which makes life difficult for Lily, Alice’s spirited sister. Alice loves her job at Foyles and spending time with her beau, Freddie who is a police sergeant. Then England declares war against Germany and the men rush to enlist including Freddie. Before Freddie departs for training camp, he proposes to Alice. The wedding will have to wait until he gets leave. As the war continues, Alice, Victoria and Molly want to find a way to help the war effort at home. Alice learns to drive an ambulance and transfers passengers from the train station to the hospital. She likes to keep herself busy to avoid thinking about the danger those she loves are in. Will Freddie make it home from the war? Are her brothers safe? Will the war ever end? Venture back to 1914 in The Foyles Bookshop Girls.

The Foyles Bookshop Girls takes readers back to 1914 when World War I begins. We see how quickly life can change. The story focuses on Alice but includes her family and friends. Alice comes from a more affluent household than her friends. The author did a wonderful job at setting the stage for the book. Elaine Roberts descriptions brought the book alive for me. I could envision the characters, their homes, and Foyles Bookshop. Alice is a spirited, strong intelligent woman. She was the anchor for her group of friends. I like how the characters developed over the course of the story and the friendship between the ladies deepened. Alice matured and developed new insights and a stronger voice. I just loved the accounts of Foyles Bookshop. It sounded like a magical place with all the wonderful books. When Alice mentioned the smell of the books, I completely agreed and understood. It was interesting how the bookshop operated (how people purchased their books, how the payment system operated). I would have liked more about the Foyles Bookshop. It was not central to the story. I wanted to know more about Victoria and Molly. I am hoping that they will be featured more prominently in the next two books in the series. The Foyles Bookshop Girls contains good writing and it is gently paced. It is a tale of friendship, family, faith and hope. Elaine Roberts is off to a promising start with her debut novel of The Foyles Bookshop Girls.

More Books by Elaine Roberts

Other Books in This Series