• Pre-Order
    • Expected May 18, 2021
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

The young woman’s mouth is slightly parted, as if waiting to speak. Her body is frozen in ice and her blue eyes stare at the sky, perhaps wanting to look at the stars one last time…

 

When the body of a woman is found in the frozen Neponset River, just where it meets the sea, Jessie Novak and her partner Detective Sam Dallas rush to the scene. When Jessie sees a flash of a familiar silk scarf, she’s shocked to realize the girl in the ice is Sheila Logan, who she worked closely with for years at Boston City Hospital. Jessie desperately wants to find out how this young and talented nurse ended up an innocent victim.

 

But who would want to kill her? As she digs into Sheila’s past, Jessie realizes she was having an affair with a colleague and may even have been pregnant. Was her lover unwilling to be a father to her child? The pain of Sheila’s death threatens to tear open Jessie’s old wounds—Jessie’s own mother walked out on her when she was just a baby and never looked back. She can’t change her own past, but she’s determined to get justice for Sheila.

 

When Sheila’s neighbor is found dead, also wearing a distinctive scarf, Jessie sees a lethal pattern forming. Next, someone breaks into Jessie’s car and she knows she’s being warned off the case. But with the killer in her sights, will she take the deadliest risk of her life? Can Jessie catch him, before he catches up to her?  

 

This utterly addictive novel will keep you up all night! Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Abbott and Tess Gerritsen will be totally hooked until the last heart-thumping page.

 

What readers are saying about Roberta Gately:

“I absolutely devoured this book!… I need more. An addictive read which kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat… I absolutely cannot recommend this book highly enough.” Little Miss Book Lover 87 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wow… It was brilliant! I was hooked from the very first page!… I loved it. A rollercoaster read that will leave you sitting on the edge of your seat.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


A phenomenal novel!I didn’t want to stop reading and… finished it the same day. I really can’t form words to express how great this book was!” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

My heart was racing, the tension building and the excitement exploding. I read this book in a day.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow what a fantastic book… An edge-of-the-seat thriller. It had a lot of twists and turns which made this book great.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“A wicked and exciting thriller where no one could be trusted, with dangerous situations crossing boundaries between Jessie’s working and personal life. It was so good, and I can’t wait for book two!Brianne’s Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Loved it!… One of my favorite reads of the year.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
AVAILABLE
2021
May 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
348
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
5.1
MB

More Books by Roberta Gately