The Gallows Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 5) The Gallows Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 5)

The Gallows Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 5‪)‬

A gripping Tudor mystery of blackmail, treason and murder

    • 4.5 • 10 Ratings
    • $1.99
    • $1.99

Publisher Description

Roger and Benjamin delve into the underworld of Tudor Britain...

Conspiracy and murder combine to threaten Roger Shallot's own life in his fifth journal, The Gallows Murders, from acclaimed author Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susannah Gregory.


In the summer of 1523, the hot weather and the sweating sickness provide a fertile breeding ground for terrible murders and the most treasonable conspiracies. King Henry VIII has moved the court to Windsor where he slakes his lusts whilst the kingdom is governed by his first minister, Cardinal Wolsey. Someone is sending the King threatening letters from the Tower, under the name and seal of Edward, one of the princes supposedly murdered there, demanding that great amounts of gold be left in different parts of London. If the orders are not carried out, proclamations will be published throughout the capital which, coinciding with the outbreak of plague, may make it look as though the hand of God has turned against the Tudors for usurping the throne. Wolsey has only two people to turn to: his beloved nephew, Benjamin Daunbey, and Daunbey's faithful servant, Roger Shallot. Benjamin and Roger become embroiled in the murky Tudor underworld and the pressure to solve the mysteries mounts when King Henry threatens that Roger Shallot's life depends on it.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
'Light, light, light, but clever, clever, clever. And amusing. A relaxing afternoon's read!'
'Excellent book, kept me guessing 'til the end'
'Paul Doherty weaves a tangled web of murder and intrigue'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
November 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
206
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
951
KB

More Books Like This

The Grail Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 3) The Grail Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 3)
2012
30+ Classic Adventure Fiction By Edgar Rice Burroughs, John Buchan, H. Rider Haggard, Robert Louis Stevenson, Baroness Orczy, Etc. 30+ Classic Adventure Fiction By Edgar Rice Burroughs, John Buchan, H. Rider Haggard, Robert Louis Stevenson, Baroness Orczy, Etc.
2012
Finding Napoleon Finding Napoleon
2021
99 Classic Thriller Short Stories 99 Classic Thriller Short Stories
2019
Classic British Fiction: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 38 books (including Sherlock Holmes, Challenger, other novels, and non-fiction), in a single file Classic British Fiction: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 38 books (including Sherlock Holmes, Challenger, other novels, and non-fiction), in a single file
2009
Adalwulf - The Two Swords Adalwulf - The Two Swords
2016

More Books by Paul Doherty

The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1) The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)
2012
Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9) Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9)
2012
A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1) A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1)
2013

Customers Also Bought

Nightshade Nightshade
2011
A Murder On London Bridge A Murder On London Bridge
2011
The Piccadilly Plot The Piccadilly Plot
2012
Face Down upon an Herbal Face Down upon an Herbal
1998
The Clerkenwell Affair The Clerkenwell Affair
2020
The Westminster Poisoner The Westminster Poisoner
2010