The German Messenger

    • 4.2 • 19 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

Liverpool, 1940. “Where’s George?” Ruth didn’t realise that she had grabbed hold of the other woman’s arms. “Where’s my son?”

Journalist Ruth Holt is struggling in the terror of the Blitz when her young son is suddenly snatched away in broad daylight. Soon after, the kidnappers’ demands arrive. They are working with the Nazis, and she has no choice but to co-operate, or the authorities will learn that she is harbouring secrets of her own.

Ruth’s job gives her access to critical information, and if she does not share it with Britain’s enemies, her child will face the consequences. Desperate, she falsifies information, lying to everyone: her employers, her family and her lover. But as the demands increase, the knife edge she walks on grows increasingly thin. If she falls, she will never save her son.

A powerful and heartbreaking WWII historical novel for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Nightingale and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.

Readers LOVE The German Messenger!

‘A mesmerizing historical novel that gripped me from the start… Simply marvellous.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I loved this book… I finished it in one sitting.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A wonderful combination of the impact of the World War II Blitz, skullduggery and friendship all thrown in together… Would recommend.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I did not want to put this book down… I finished in two sittings. I loved it.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

'I loved this book' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Would recommend it’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I finished it in one sitting’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the author

Michael J. Hollows was born in London in 1986, and moved to Liverpool in 2010 to lecture in Audio Engineering. With a keen interest in history, music, and science, he has told stories since he was little. Goodbye for Now, published in Oct 2018, is his first novel, which he started as part of his MA in Writing from Liverpool John Moores University, graduating in 2015. The German Nurse, his second historical novel, was a top ten Globe & Mail bestseller. Michael also writes for Black Library and his first short story Ashes of Grimnir is available now. He is currently researching towards a PhD in Creative Writing, working on his next novel.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
January 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
3.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Mary Ward Taylor ,

Liverpool in the War

The main thing I knew about Liverpool is that it was the home of Paul, George, Ringo, and John. Now I know that the town about 200 miles from London suffered greatly in World War II. This story brought to life the town, the people and the horrors of war. It is well written, engaging, with an element of hope that no doubt helped the residents and city to survive such heart breaking devastation.

More Books Like This

2016
2023
2011
2018
1978
2014

More Books by M.J. Hollows

2020
2018

Customers Also Bought

2023
2022
2022
2022
2022
2023