The Girl at My Door The Girl at My Door

The Girl at My Door

An utterly gripping mystery thriller based on a true crime

    • 3.6 • 10 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

‘Can I give this more than 5 stars? WOW, WOW, WOW. I absolutely loved this book. It completely blew my mind and I have not been able to stop thinking about it since I finished reading it! I devoured this in one sitting… Magnificent.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

The house at the top end of Rillington Place was quiet and mostly dark. As Queenie approached the door, her heart was racing. She knew that he could help her. So why did she feel so afraid?

 

London, 1949: Beautiful, young Queenie Osbourne has worked so hard for her new life, moving to the big city, singing in front of growing crowds at little restaurants and smoky bars. As she applies bright red lipstick, excited for her best friend’s engagement party, she has no idea of the mistake she’s about to make.

 

The night is perfect: laughter, wine, dancing. But then a spark of attraction becomes impossible to ignore, and in a split second, Queenie’s life is changed forever.

 

Like countless young women of her time, Queenie finds herself desperate and alone, facing an impossible choice. She turns to a familiar face from her work. The only person who can help her: the quiet, ex-soldier John Reginald Christie.

 

It will be a relief to be in Reg’s capable hands. A relief to discover there is the possibility of a fresh start. But as Queenie stands outside the door of 10 Rillington Place, she starts to ask herself: what if she has put her trust in the wrong man?

 

An unputdownable mystery thriller based on the true crime story of the Rillington Place murders. Completely addictive, this will keep you reading long into the night and is perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen, Catherine Ryan Howard and I’ll Be Gone in the Dark.

 

This novel was previously published as The Rope Chair.

 

What readers are saying about The Girl at My Door:

 

A page-turning thriller that will leave you breathlessI was completely hooked… It is brutal, tense and sexy, and an absolute stunner.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

OMG what a reading this was, right from the very start it give me everything that I love in a historical thriller, dark, creepy and will make you stay in your seat just to read.’ Spooky's Maze of Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I absolutely loved this book. It was hard to put down as it drew me in immediately… One of those books that sucked me in from the beginning and didn’t let go until I finished! Absolutely unputdownable… you won't want to miss this novel!’ @oh.happy.reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Talk about flipping creepy...oh my goodness! This book had me dragging my hands down my face in horror, it was genuinely chilling… it really was outstanding.’ notwithoutmybook.com, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I can’t begin to tell you how much I loved this book… it kept me on the edge of my seat… a stunning book with unexpected twists and one of the creepiest portrayals of a serial killer I have ever read!’ Mychestnutreadingtree, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Oh my gosh! What a chilling read!... The narrators did a fabulous job telling this story. I did not want to stop listening. It was captivating! Edge of your seat story!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Very creepy, chilling and disturbing. It is certainly a book that will keep you on your toes and on the edge of your seatgave me goosebumps.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
September 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
404
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3.8
MB

Customer Reviews

JoniO612 ,

Suspenseful

I loved this book. It sounds so odd to say that because this book has so really dark topics. It’s a very heavy topics but the way it is written, you want to keep reading to find out what was going to happen.

I liked how each chapter was a different characters pov. The chapters are short so it makes for a quick read.

More Books Like This

The Hidden Child The Hidden Child
2022
Hue and Cry Hue and Cry
2016
Shadow Play Shadow Play
2014
Cancel All Our Vows Cancel All Our Vows
1981
Cancel All Our Vows Cancel All Our Vows
2014
The Family Next Door The Family Next Door
2020

More Books by Rebecca Griffiths

The Hidden Child The Hidden Child
2022
Le chemin de l'oubli Le chemin de l'oubli
2017

Customers Also Bought

Widow's Island Widow's Island
2021
The Silent Girl The Silent Girl
2021
The Woman in the Water The Woman in the Water
2021
The Safe Place The Safe Place
2021
The Vanishing Child The Vanishing Child
2021
Seven Minutes Later Seven Minutes Later
2022