• $3.99

Publisher Description

For readers of The HelpOrphan Train and Before We Were Yours comes a heartbreaking and inspirational novel about redemption, family secrets and the spirit of survival found at the hardest time.


Montgomery, Alabama, 1955

On a cold December evening, Mattie Banks packs a suitcase and leaves her family home. Sixteen years old and pregnant, she has already made the mistake that will ruin her life and disgrace her widowed mother. Boarding the 2857 bus, she sits with her case on her lap, hoping that the driver will take her away from disaster. Instead, Mattie witnesses an act of bravery by a woman named Rosa Parks that changes everything. But as Mattie strives to turn her life around, the dangers that first led her to run are never far away. Forging a new life in a harsh world at constant risk of exposure, Mattie will need to fight to keep her baby safe.


Atlanta, Georgia, present day

Ashlee Turner is going home. Her relationship in ruins, her career held back by prejudice, she is returning to the family who have always been her rock. But Ashlee’s home is not the safe haven she remembers. Her beloved grandmother is dying and is determined to share her story before she leaves…


When Ashlee finds a stack of yellowing letters hidden in her nana’s closet, she can’t help the curiosity that compels her to read, and she uncovers an old secret that could wreak havoc on her already grieving family. As she tries to make sense of what she has learned, Ashlee faces a devastating choice: to protect her loved ones from the revelations, or honor her grandmother’s wishes and follow the path to the truth, no matter where it may lead.

What readers are saying about Suzette D. Harrison:


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Couldn’t sleep until I finished… A beautiful story of betrayal, deception and genuine love.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Amazing! This book was everything.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “An amazing story from beginning to end! Captivated my attention and was hard to put down!… LOVED IT!” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I was sad when it ended!! Absolutely amazing.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I honestly can’t find enough adjectives or words to convey to you how very much I enjoyed this book… Pure perfection.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “This is one of the reasons I enjoy reading!!… This book is worthy of occupying space with Toni Morrison, Bernice McFadden, J.California Cooper and Phyllis McKinney Whetstone to name a few.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “OMG OMG OMG! First, y’all just be prepared. Prepared to laugh, to cry, to shake your head.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A truly amazing book that held me captive from first page to last.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Wow… I laughed, cried, and cried from laughter.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Man where do I start?… From beginning to end I couldn’t put this read down.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “My favorite book to date. I might need to reread just to fall in love with the characters again!” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “An incredible work of historical fiction and a MUST-READ.” Goodreads reviewer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “One of the most beautiful stories I’ve read in a very long time. The vividness of the writing was amazing… Absolutely stunning.” Goodreads reviewer

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
February 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

SDR267 ,

Excellent read!

Wow, I absolutely loved this story. The way the story alternated between the past and the present definitely made it a page turner. I appreciated the historical aspects of this story. It was an emotional and encouraging story that I would definitely recommend.