The Girl Before The Girl Before

The Girl Before

A Novel

    • 4.1 • 2.6K Ratings
    • $8.99
    • $8.99

Publisher Description

THE GLOBAL BESTSELLER • Soon to be a BBC One and HBO Max limited four-part series, starring Gugu Mbatha-Raw (The Morning Show; Misbehaviour) and multiple Golden Globe, BAFTA, and Emmy-nominated actor David Oyelowo (Selma; Les Misérables)
 
“A pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense” (Lee Child) that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.

JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Praise for The Girl Before

“Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense.”—Lee Child

The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we’re not provided either woman’s answers.”—The New York Times

“J. P. Delaney builds the suspense.”Vanity Fair

“Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there’s not only more where that came from, but it’s also more thrilling.”American Booksellers Association

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2017
January 24
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
9.7
MB

Customer Reviews

SleepyRN511 ,

Couldn't put it down

I couldn't put this book down! Reminded me a lot of The Girl on the Train. Good twists and turns.

Tgidra ,

Didn't really enjoy like others reviewers

I finished this book because I had to see if it got better. Many reviewers gave it high ratings, I would beg to differ. It was a compilation of recent best sellers, at best. I got super annoyed that the character Emma's chapters always had " Simon states" or " I say" it was hard to distinguish dialogue from other content. I would save your money.

ksray3 ,

Can't put it down!

Don't pick this up if you have plans for the day because you will not be able to put it down!!! It's a true page turner, can't put it down, I need five more minutes kind of book.

More Books Like This

Believe Me Believe Me
2018
Abandoned Abandoned
2009
Don’t Trust Me Don’t Trust Me
2018
The Family Game The Family Game
2022
Séances Are for Suckers Séances Are for Suckers
2018
Win Win
2021

More Books by J.P. Delaney

The Perfect Wife The Perfect Wife
2019
Believe Me Believe Me
2018
Playing Nice Playing Nice
2020
La chica de antes La chica de antes
2017
La mujer perfecta La mujer perfecta
2021
The Girl Before - Sie war wie du. Und jetzt ist sie tot. The Girl Before - Sie war wie du. Und jetzt ist sie tot.
2017

Customers Also Bought

The Wife The Wife
2018
The Stranger Inside The Stranger Inside
2019
Dear Wife Dear Wife
2019
The Breakdown The Breakdown
2017
You Are Not Alone You Are Not Alone
2020
Last Girl Ghosted Last Girl Ghosted
2021