The Girl from Venice The Girl from Venice

The Girl from Venice

An epic, sweeping historical novel from Siobhan Daiko

    • 4.3 • 27 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

From an award-winning author - an epic novel of love, betrayal, and finding where you truly belong.

1943

Lidia De Angelis has kept a low profile since Mussolini’s laws wrenched her from her childhood sweetheart. But when the Germans occupy Venice, she must flee the city to save her life.

Lidia joins the partisans in the Venetian mountains, where she meets David, an English soldier fighting for the same cause. As she grows closer to him, harsh German reprisals and her own ardent patriotic activities threaten to tear them apart.

Years later

While sorting through her grandmother’s belongings after her death, Charlotte discovers a Jewish prayer book, unopened letters written in Italian, and a fading photograph of a group of young people in front of the Doge’s Palace.

Intrigued by her grandmother’s refusal to talk about her time in Italy, Charlotte travels to Venice in search of her roots. There, she learns not only the devastating truth about her grandmother’s past, but also about her own...

Perfect for readers of Rhys Bowen, Fiona Valpy and Victoria Hislop.

What real readers are saying:

‘…a beautiful story with a compelling historical storyline that you won’t want to put down.’ Ann Bennett, bestselling author of The Orphan House.

‘Siobhan Daiko will tug at your heartstrings, and leave you desperate for more.’ The Coffee Pot Book Club.

‘One of my absolute favourite books and a must read for those who love a great escape into historical fiction.’ Goodreads Reviewer.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
June 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
303
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SELLER
Boldwood Books Ltd
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books Like This

The Tuscan Contessa The Tuscan Contessa
2020
The Girl from Portofino The Girl from Portofino
2023
Sapphire Skies Sapphire Skies
2014
One World Two One World Two
2016
Courage, My Love Courage, My Love
2021
The Eighth Life The Eighth Life
2019

More Books by Siobhan Daiko

The Girl from Portofino The Girl from Portofino
2023
The Tuscan Orphan The Tuscan Orphan
2023
The Flame Tree The Flame Tree
2023
Fragrant Haven Fragrant Haven
2015
The Orchid Tree The Orchid Tree
2015
The Girl from Bologna The Girl from Bologna
2023

Customers Also Bought

Sisters at War Sisters at War
2023
The Orphans of Berlin The Orphans of Berlin
2022
Once We Were Here Once We Were Here
2020
The German Messenger The German Messenger
2023
The Jeweler of Stolen Dreams The Jeweler of Stolen Dreams
2023
The Last Letter from London The Last Letter from London
2023