• $2.99

Publisher Description

'A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a bestseller' Lesley Pearse on The Girl in the Letter

'I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you' Sophie Kinsella

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late.
Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a sixty-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever...

Read her letter. Remember her story...

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
August 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

aw-miller ,

Overall pretty good

The ending felt rushed and I am not totally sure I like the whole twin thing, but otherwise I really enjoyed this book

Done forever ,

Very Moving

I've read several historical fiction that have been thoroughly researched regarding the Magdalen houses in U.S., &U.K. I'm Catholic and it's unfortunately another chapter in our history to be horrified. Writing is very visual and fast moving. Can feel urgency & angst. Great job Ms. Ennis, I just bought " The Lost Child".

talus_roman ,

Astounding!

A tale that not only guides you along with the immaculate flow of storytelling involved, but truly gives you an eye opening experience. Feeling every word said as if you were the there! The flow the author has is perfection!

More Books by Emily Gunnis