• $3.99

Publisher Description

“Amazing… So heart-wrenching. The fact that it is a true story tears at your heartstrings, so reading with a box of Kleenex is a must… Such a phenomenal story… Will continue to resonate in me for a very long time… Wonderful, phenomenal must-read!” PageTurners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Be brave. Don’t run. Fight.” With her eyes tightly shut, tears rolling from under her dark lashes, she felt his lips gently touch her burning cheek. The train on the platform whistled, and he disappeared into the steam. 

 

Berlin, 1939: Libby is determined to start a new life––as far away as possible from her family and their alliance with the Nazis. But in the city, there’s no escape from Hitler’s brutal regime. And when Libby’s friend vanishes into thin air, she cannot stand back and do nothing…

 

And then Libby meets Harro and her world tips upside down as they fall desperately in love. But she knows there’s a story behind his cornflower-blue eyes. The whip marks on his back, scars from the SS, tell his secret: he is a resistance fighter.

 

Harro draws Libby into the world of the resistance, and their life grows increasingly dangerous as they do everything they can to bring about Hitler’s downfall. With each risk they take, Libby is terrified of losing Harro––how will she live without him?

 

Libby starts to believe that the Gestapo is stalking them––their every move watched, their phone calls recorded. And one day, Harro simply disappears. Her worst nightmare has come true, and she knows that it is just a matter of time before she’s next.

 

Will they live to see each other once again? Or will everything they’ve risked be in vain?

 

Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network and The Lilac Girls will be utterly gripped by this heartbreaking page-turner. Based on a true story, this beautiful novel shows that even when our freedom is stolen, we still have a choice…

 

Readers love The Girl on the Platform:

 

I LOVED ITAmazing… An unputdownable, heart-wrenching, absolutely beautifully devastating story.’ Bookwork86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Well, what can I say but wow!!! This story is definitely not going to leave my head anytime soon. Firstly, I must congratulate Ellie Midwood for yet another extraordinary novel that seriously needs to be made into a movie which I assure would be best-selling!!! This book is very powerful and extremely well written. It is devastatingly heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time… It is absolutely rammed with emotions that will make you smile, cry and laugh.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Wow! I finished this with a tear in my eye and a lump in my throat––it was so very movingStunning.” Nicki’s Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“I absolutely adored this book! I could not put it down, probably the fastest I have ever read a bookPerfect An emotional read that I absolutely adored! Top marks.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Phew! This book grabs you by the collarI loved it!Brilliant.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“This book was breathtaking, truly a masterpiece of historical fiction… One of the best books I have read this year. It was so inspirational and so heartbreaking that at times I actually just had to stop reading and hold the book to my chest in an almost-hug, just to take a moment. Will stay in my heart for a long time to come.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Will tug on all your heartstrings!!” @hadassah.s

 

“Incredible… An astonishing story… Amazing... Heartbreaking… One that needed to be told and one that will not soon be forgotten.” Robin Loves Reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Fascinating I found I couldn’t put it down.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“An incredible story… One I will not forget.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Ellie Midwood has done it again… She has penned an astonishing story…  Heartbreaking.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“I needed a few days to put together my thoughts for this book. So complex. So beautiful. So tragic.” Goodreads reviewer

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
October 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
371
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Great historical fiction ,

WWII Fiction

From the author of The Violinist of Auschwitz, comes another story from the pages of WWII. Based on a true story, The Girl on the Platform, by Ellie Midwood, takes the reader to Berlin in the 1930s and 1940s. Libertas is wanting to expand her horizons so she moves to Berlin to work in the publicity department of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio there. Here she begins to see the shift in Germany from the country she knew to what Hitler envisions. She falls in love Harro and together they form a resistance group right under the noses of the Gestapo. Follow them as they, and their bands of rebels, try to undermine the evil that is taking over Germany.

I was allowed to read this on #NetGalley.

More Books by Ellie Midwood

2020
2021
2018
2021
2021
2021