The Girl Who Wrote in Silk The Girl Who Wrote in Silk

The Girl Who Wrote in Silk

    • 4.3 • 326 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"A powerful debut that proves the threads that interweave our lives can withstand time and any tide, and bind our hearts forever."—Susanna Kearsley, New York Times bestselling author of Belleweather and The Vanished Days

A historical novel inspired by true events, Kelli Estes's brilliant and atmospheric debut is a poignant tale of two women determined to do the right thing, highlighting the power of our own stories.

The smallest items can hold centuries of secrets...

While exploring her aunt's island estate, Inara Erickson is captivated by an elaborately stitched piece of fabric hidden in the house. The truth behind the silk sleeve dated back to 1886, when Mei Lien, the lone survivor of a cruel purge of the Chinese in Seattle found refuge on Orcas Island and shared her tragic experience by embroidering it.

As Inara peels back layer upon layer of the centuries of secrets the sleeve holds, her life becomes interwoven with that of Mei Lein. Through the stories Mei Lein tells in silk, Inara uncovers a tragic truth that will shake her family to its core—and force her to make an impossible choice. Should she bring shame to her family and risk everything by telling the truth, or tell no one and dishonor Mei Lien's memory?

A touching and tender book for fans of Marie Benedict, Susanna Kearsley, and Duncan Jepson, The Girl Who Wrote in Silk is a dual-time period novel that explores how a delicate piece of silk interweaves the past and the present, reminding us that today's actions have far reaching implications.

Praise for The Girl Who Wrote in Silk:

"A beautiful, elegiac novel, as finely and delicately woven as the title suggests. Kelli Estes spins a spellbinding tale that illuminates the past in all its brutality and beauty, and the humanity that binds us all together."

Susan Wiggs, New York Times bestselling author of The Beekeeper's Ball

"A touching and tender story about discovering the past to bring peace to the present."

Duncan Jepson, author of All the Flowers in Shanghai

"Vibrant and tragic, The Girl Who Wrote in Silk explores a horrific, little-known era in our nation's history. Estes sensitively alternates between Mei Lien, a young Chinese-American girl who lived in the late 1800s, and Inara, a modern recent college grad who sets Mei Lien's story free."

Margaret Dilloway, author of How to Be an American Housewife and Sisters of Heart and Snow

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
July 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Sourcebooks
SELLER
Sourcebooks, Inc.
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Readingbythesea ,

The Girl Who Wrote On Silk

A story with history. A story about love and family.

Amysmom18 ,

Great book

Loved the history of Seattle in the late 18 hundreds!

Margie1952 ,

The Girl Who Wrote In Silk

This author is a born story teller. I so enjoyed each and every chapter to this story. There was a lot of heart brake but also a lot of love to be told. Lots of family ties and how they all interconnected really made this story so enjoyable to read!

More Books Like This

The Many Daughters of Afong Moy The Many Daughters of Afong Moy
2022
A Thread of Sky A Thread of Sky
2010
All We Dream All We Dream
2021
The Land Girl The Land Girl
2018
In Need of a Good Wife In Need of a Good Wife
2012
Before the Rains Before the Rains
2017

More Books by Kelli Estes

Today We Go Home Today We Go Home
2019
Die Seideninsel Die Seideninsel
2016
Selyemre hímzett történet Selyemre hímzett történet
2020

Customers Also Bought

The Other Einstein The Other Einstein
2016
A Fall of Marigolds A Fall of Marigolds
2014
The Stationery Shop The Stationery Shop
2019
Only the Beautiful Only the Beautiful
2023
The Island of Sea Women The Island of Sea Women
2019
Lady Clementine Lady Clementine
2020