• $11.99

Publisher Description

One of People’s, Glamour’s, and Buzzfeed's Best Reads of Summer, from the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone

“Jewell expertly builds suspense by piling up domestic misunderstandings and more plot twists than an SVU episode. It’s a page-turner for readers who like beach reads on the dark side.” —People

“Faithful to the thriller genre, Jewell makes liberal use of red herrings and plot twists… The answer to the whodunit is a sly—and satisfying—surprise.” —The New York Times

Full of suspense yet emotionally grounded…Fans of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Carla Buckley will adore this peek inside a gated community that truly takes care of its own, no matter the consequences." —Booklist (starred review)

Imagine that you live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people’s houses. You’ve known your neighbors for years and you trust them. Implicitly. You think your children are safe. But are they really?

On a midsummer night, as a festive neighborhood party is taking place, preteen Pip discovers her thirteen-year-old sister Grace lying unconscious and bloody in a hidden corner of a lush rose garden. What really happened to her? And who is responsible?

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
June 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
9.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Dr. T2012 ,

Fun until a flat ending

Love her novels. This one was great but the ending sort of disappointed me. Her characters are so rich and fun. And they just fell off a cliff (not literally) at the end. Still worth the summer read.

jodacious10 ,

Disappointing ending ruined it

Really enjoyed this until the last 10 pages, which were so unsatisfying that it made me mad I'd read the book at all. It felt like the author had a deadline but no ending and just threw something together at the last minute. Really annoying.

kaykaybean13 ,

Another spectacularly suspenseful novel

What can I say? I love the way this author writes, the fluidity of her words strung together making clever prose that captures your mind from the start. Her characters lives, personality and emotions are so multifaceted it’s impossible to find them anything but riveting, alluring, sometimes disturbing yet still so incredibly interesting you find yourself nostalgic when too soon the end comes and you carry those characters and think about that plot and how richly layered it truly was for far too many days after putting the book down.

More Books by Lisa Jewell