The Girls of Mersey Square The Girls of Mersey Square

The Girls of Mersey Square

An utterly heartbreaking and uplifting historical saga novel

Publisher Description

A totally heart-wrenching but ultimately uplifting historical novel from bestselling author Pam Howes, about young women facing dark times together with friendship and courage. Fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Nancy Revell will be captivated.


Mersey Square, Stockport, 1959Jane Wilson’s parents met during the war in the north of England, but Jane is more interested in listening to the new rock music than hearing stories about the Blitz. When she meets handsome drummer Eddie Mellor, with his sparkling blue eyes and cool black leather jacket, she knows her life is about to start.


But Jane’s parents think Eddie’s rebellious ways will lead their beloved daughter into trouble. They forbid her from seeing Eddie, telling Jane to get a proper job as a nurse. But Jane cannot stand the idea of life without the boy she loves and secretly continues to see Eddie. The day she finds out that Eddie has betrayed her, she is utterly distraught. Were her parents right all along?


Jane is desperate to rebuild her life. Her friends rally round to support her and she gets a job at the local music shop she loves, when to her shock, Eddie invites her to his family home and begs her to reconsider. Just as Jane is feeling tempted, someone pounds on the door of the house bringing shocking news that will change both of their lives forever…


Can Jane find happiness with Eddie? And if she does, will her family ever forgive her?


This book was previously published as That’ll Be The Day.


What readers are saying about Pam Howes:


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘Heart-wrenching… You will need tissues… I just loved it all… Brought tears to my eyes as I read… Just perfect… 10/10.’ NetGalley reviewer


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘My heart felt like it was literally going to burst… Gripping… A powerful and moving story that I didn’t want to end… A must-read.’ By the Letter Book Reviews


‘The stories, the characters, the music… this series has it allSuperb!’ Bestselling author Mandasue Heller


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘I love this book so much… So many tears were shed whilst reading this I got a blocked nose!… Oh my days I’m so into this… Fantastic.’ Read Along With Sue Ward


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘WOW what a fabulous book!!… Loads of laughter and tears – it is absolutely a book you will not be able to put down until you finish it, for that reason I had sleepless nights!! I can’t recommend it highly enough.’ Goodreads Reviewer


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘Oh what a corker… Fantastic… Tissues ready though, okay?… Literally moved me to tears, filled my arms with goosebumps… Truly spell-binding, humble, and utterly poignant… Historical fiction at its finest.’ The Writing Garnet


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘I loved this book!… You can’t help but get caught up in the story and not let up until the very last page… I’ve laughed and I’ve cried. I do warn you to have a supply of tissues ready, as I certainly needed them!… Kept me reading until the early hours. I just didn’t want it to end.’ Stardust Book Reviews


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ‘Utterly impossible for me to put down… Devoured the entire book in just one sitting… I loved this book.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2024
January 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
365
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3.4
MB

More Books Like This

Let It Shine Let It Shine
2019
Ava Comes Home Ava Comes Home
2009
American Star American Star
2014
Coronation Day Coronation Day
2012
The Dover Cafe Under Fire The Dover Cafe Under Fire
2022
Dancing in the Dark Dancing in the Dark
2016

Customers Also Bought

The Paris Orphans The Paris Orphans
2024
The Children of Berlin The Children of Berlin
2023
The War Girls The War Girls
2022
The Potteries Girls on the Home Front The Potteries Girls on the Home Front
2022
Those I Have Lost Those I Have Lost
2021
A Wartime Summer A Wartime Summer
2022