• $3.99

Publisher Description

Nominated for the 2010 Shamus Awards in the US, this taut, psychologically acute crime novel marks the arrival of an exciting new voice in Scottish crime fiction.

When a Scottish farmer finds his estranged brother's corpse hanging from a tree, the police claim suicide. But Private Investigator J McNee is about to uncover the disturbing truth behind the death. With a pair of vicious London hard men loose in the Scottish city of Dundee, its only a matter of time before people start dying.

McNee must confront his own demons and these brutal killers in a violence showdown that threatens to leave no one alive.

THE GOOD SON evokes the dark streets of modern urban Scotland while paying homage the work of classic American authors such as Ross MacDonald and Dashiell Hammett. The result is "taught, tough and profoundly touching" (Sean Chercover, author of "Big City, Bad Blood" and "Trigger City")

"I love McNee" - Robert Olen Butler, author of the Christopher Marlowe Cobb mysteries

"A really authentic and remarkable read!" Martina Cole on Ed's Dead

Praise for THE GOOD SON

"the most exciting, and gripping, Scottish crime fiction debut of recent years." John Connolly

"A thrilling new writer, a brilliant debut...The Good Son is very good indeed." - Tony Black

"McNee is the most convincing British PI for a while." - The Morning Star

"...an atmosphere of delicious gloom." - Mystery Scene

"Clever, tough, witty... a great character study with a wonderful plot and plenty of atmosphere" - The Globe and Mail

"The future of crime fiction is in good hands" - Crimespree Magazine

About the author:

Russel D McLean is the author of several crime novels, including the J McNee series, and the dark comedy, Ed's Dead. Born in Fife, he studied philosophy at the University of Dundee before falling into the disreputable world of the book trade, spending over a decade as a bookseller before leaving to concentrate on his writing.

Mysteries & Thrillers
November 18
Russel D McLean
Smashwords, Inc.

More Books by Russel D McLean

Other Books in This Series