• $7.99

Publisher Description

For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future. 

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

— Finalist, Lambda Literary Award

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
May 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Crown/Archetype
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Missjulie622 ,

Enchanting

Enchanting & lovely book, quite imaginative, with just the right amount of detail. Looked forward to each evening's reading session, but was disappointed by the rather flat, bland ending to such a lush delicious tale. Perhaps a sequel is in the works?

More Books by Kirsty Logan