• $9.99

Publisher Description

This Los Angeles Times bestseller takes a riveting look at the life and times of depression-era golf legend Bobby Jones.

In the wake of the stock market crash and the dawn of the Great Depression, a ray of light emerged from the world of sports in the summer of 1930. Bobby Jones, a 28-year-old amateur golfer, mounted a campaign against the record books. In four months, he conquered the British Amateur Championship, the British Open, the United States Open, and finally the United States Amateur Championship, an achievement so extraordinary that writers dubbed it the Grand Slam. No one has ever repeated it.

Mark Frost uses a wealth of original research to provide an unprecedented intimate portrait of golf great Bobby Jones. In the tradition of The Greatest Game Ever Played, The Grand Slam blends social history with sports biography, captivating the imagination and engaging the reader. The Grand Slam is a biography not to be missed.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2004
November 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
512
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Books
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
3.4
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 8-17

Customer Reviews

Sandbarz ,

Riveting & Informative

Everyone who plays or follows the game of golf must read this book. As with other Frost golf books, the characters are just part of the story. Learning how golf in the 20th century evolved and captured our nation’s interest as our culture roiled through wars and economic calamities and shifting mores is compelling. And you learn why there are supermen (and women) in the game, and there’s everyone else.

More Books by Mark Frost