The Grim Steeper The Grim Steeper
Book 3 - A Teapot Collector Mystery

The Grim Steeper

    • 4.0 • 5 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

The national bestselling author of Shadow of a Spout invites readers back to the Finger Lakes town of Gracious Grove for more tea and murder...

Mid-October in the charming Finger Lakes town of Gracious Grove means it’s time for the annual Fall Fling Townwide Tea Party. The highlight of the festivities is a roaming tea-tasting, which includes a stop at Auntie Rose’s Victorian Tea House. Sophie Taylor would like to share her enjoyment of the event with her sort-of boyfriend, English teacher Jason Murphy, but Jason’s dean has accused him of falsifying grades to help an athlete at the local college. Steamed and stressed, Jason shows up the night of the party with bags under his eyes.
But the dean shows up under Sophie’s Japanese Maple later that night, murdered, and now Jason is suspected of far worse than fudging grade reports. It’s up to Sophie, her Nana, and their friends the Silver Spouts to pore over the clues to find out who really decided to teach the dean a lesson.

Mysteries & Thrillers
February 2
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

A delight to read!

The Grim Steeper by Amanda Cooper is the third book in the Teapot Collector Mystery series. Sophie Taylor returns to Gracious Grove, New York when she received word her beloved Nana (Rose Freemont) is ill (possible heart attack). Sophie was not enjoying the job at Bartleby’s in the Hampton’s (obnoxious employer) and when they would not give her time off for her grandmother’s illness she quit (I do not blame her). Thankfully, Rose is on the mend and just needs to take it easy. Sophie slips back into her routine at Auntie Rose’s Victorian Tea House. The town is getting ready for the Fall Fling Townwide Tea Party. People will be able to stroll through the town for tea tastings (and goodies). But there is some trouble brewing for Sophie’s boyfriend, Jason Murphy. Jason is a professor at Cruickshank College (and working on his dissertation). He is being accused of taking a bribe to alter the grade of the star basketball player, Mac MacAlister. Jason would never jeopardize his job or the college (he is a straight arrow). On the day Dean Dale Asquith is going to announce the person responsible for the grade change, he turns up dead on the front lawn of Auntie Rose’s Victorian Tea House. Whoever killed the Dean is trying to set up Jason. Sophie (with the help of Nana and friends) will have to sift through the clues and find the culprit to prove Jason’s innocence.

The Grim Steeper was a fun cozy mystery to read. The book has great characters, lovely setting, and a good mystery (with clues along the way to help solve the mystery). The Grim Steeper is well-written and can be read without having enjoyed the other two books in the series (though you will want to read them). There are a lot of characters and it can be hard to keep them all straight at first. I give The Grim Steeper 5 out of 5 stars. I cannot wait to read the next book in A Teapot Collector Mystery series. There is a recipe at the end of the book and a discussion on tea strainers and infusers. The Grim Steeper does a superb job of combining romance, friendship, tea (and goodies), and mystery into one delightful book.

I received a complimentary copy of The Grim Steeper from the author (care of Cozy Mystery Review Crew) in exchange for an honest review.

More Books Like This

Young Ladies of Mystery Young Ladies of Mystery
Dark Mirror Dark Mirror
Squirrel & Swan Stolen Things Squirrel & Swan Stolen Things
Trouble Vision Trouble Vision
Purls and Poison Purls and Poison
All Her Fault All Her Fault

More Books by Amanda Cooper

Tempest in a Teapot Tempest in a Teapot
Shadow of a Spout Shadow of a Spout

Customers Also Bought

Stake & Eggs Stake & Eggs
Eggs in a Casket Eggs in a Casket
Skeleton Letters Skeleton Letters
Scorched Eggs Scorched Eggs
No Mallets Intended No Mallets Intended
White Colander Crime White Colander Crime

Other Books in This Series

Tempest in a Teapot Tempest in a Teapot
Shadow of a Spout Shadow of a Spout