• $7.99

Publisher Description

From the author of The One-Eyed Judge: A New York Times–bestselling novel about a federal death penalty trial from the perspective of the presiding judge.

When a drive-by shooting in Holyoke, Massachusetts, claims the lives of a drug dealer and a hockey mom volunteering at an inner-city clinic, the police arrest a rival gang member. With no death penalty in Massachusetts, the US attorney shifts the double homicide out of state jurisdiction into federal court so he can seek a death sentence.

The Honorable David S. Norcross, a federal judge with only two years on the bench, now presides over the first death penalty case in the state in decades. He must referee the clash between an ambitious female prosecutor and a brilliant veteran defense attorney in a high-stress environment of community outrage, media pressure, vengeful gang members, and a romantic entanglement that threatens to capsize his trial—not to mention the most dangerous force of all: the unexpected.

Written by judge Michael Ponsor, who presided over Massachusetts’s first capital case in over fifty years, The Hanging Judge explores the controversial issue of capital punishment in a dramatic and thought-provoking way that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It is “a crackling court procedural” (Anita Shreve) and “gripping legal thriller” (Booklist) perfect for fans of Scott Turow. 

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2013
December 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
492
Pages
PUBLISHER
Open Road Media
SELLER
OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
SIZE
6.5
MB

Customer Reviews

W Agyemang ,

Wow

We'll written. Unreal how American justice works. A group of people can decide to sacrifice the life of another irrespective of the fact that the man or woman being sacrificed is a son, father, brother sister or even a neighbour. We all be held accountable for our actions. Thank you Judge Ponsor for this expose.

Tammydeec ,

The hanging judge

Very good. Glad the author did not drag out the story line.

sonmandawg ,

Excellent Captivating Legal Novel

I take issue with the 1 star review by Allen. He takes pot shots a Ponsor but does not claim to have any legal experience to back up his bashing. I have been a practicing defense lawyer in State and Federal Courts for 26 years. Ponsor’s novel was absolutely realistic about tactics by the government and antics by attorneys. I could not put it down.

More Books by Michael Ponsor

Other Books in This Series