• $3.99

Publisher Description

The little girl peers down the dark alleyway. She isn’t supposed to take this shortcut, but it’s raining and all she wants is to get home quickly. She steps forward. But she never makes it home…

 

When nine-year-old Charlotte Standish goes missing from her street, it sparks a media frenzy in her small Lake District town. Her distraught parents are desperate to have their little blonde darling back, and Detective Morgan Brookes leads a frantic hunt for the girl. But Charlotte seems to have vanished into thin air.

 

Chasing up a lead at Charlotte’s school, Morgan is chilled to learn that another girl disappeared from the same street fifteen years ago. But the moment she begins to investigate the link, another local child goes missing. Ten-year-old Macy loves chocolate, her mum and her dog in that order, and Morgan’s heart twists at the thought of anyone harming this precious child.

 

The missing girls all lived close to each other so Morgan is sure that someone in this tight-knit community must know something. Going door to door, she is closing in on the truth when she gets a call that fills her with guilt; Charlotte’s lifeless body has been found in a local park, with distinctive scratches on her pale arms. Morgan has let one girl down, but she cannot give up on Macy and she’ll tear this town apart to find the final clue in her disappearance. But can Morgan solve this case before any more innocent lives are taken?

 

A nail-biting, unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night, for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Rachel Caine.

 

Readers love The Hiding Place:

 

Wow!!! Just Wow!!! I did not see that one coming!!!… Such an addictive and compelling read… An absolute roller-coaster ride that kept me up until late at night.’ Bookworm86 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Pulled me into this one from the very first page… I 100% recommend Impossible to put down… A definite five star read.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Read it in one day… As I read, I wanted to say, “No, Morgan, No!”… Wonderful!’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Had me sitting on the edge of my seat.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Heart-stopping… exciting… with some unexpected twists and turns.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A dark twisty story that grabs you in and doesn’t let go… you simply can’t put it down… Amazing. Twists and turns and angles that keep you guessing till the very end.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I was actually reading this book while blow drying my hair. I loved it that much!!Agirlwholovesbooks42 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely brilliant! From the first page you are completely drawn in. It’s fast-paced throughout and completely gripping.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘An exciting read which had me turning the pages late into the night.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
June 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
317
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3
MB

More Books by Helen Phifer

Other Books in This Series