The Highland Girls at War The Highland Girls at War
Book 1 - The Highland Girls series

The Highland Girls at War

    • 4.1 • 30 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

Can the Highland girls prove everyone wrong? Don’t miss this poignant and heartwarming WW2 novel for fans of Rosie Clarke, Dilly Court and Rosie Archer, from the author of A Wartime Secret.

Scotland, 1942.
The Lumberjills, the newest recruits in the Women’s Timber Corps, arrive in the Scottish Highlands to a hostile reception from doubtful locals. The young women are determined to prove them wrong and serve their country – but they’re also all looking for something more…

Lady Persephone signed up to show everyone she’s more than just a pretty face – but it’ll take more than some charm and her noble credentials to win handsome Sergeant Fraser over.

Tall, strong Grace has led a lonely life working on a croft, with just her mother for company. All she wants is to find her place in the world – even if that’s a thousand miles from home.

And Irene misses her husband terribly, so until he returns home from the frontline, she’s distracting herself with war work. But one distraction too far leads to devastating consequences…

Can the Lumberjills get through their struggles together – even when tragedy strikes?

Readers LOVE The Highland Girls at War!

‘I adored it!!… From start to finish, I loved it and couldn’t wait to get back to it whenever I had to rip myself away… It certainly left me wanting more! It was brilliant.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Love this book… The characters came to life as the story unrolled and I was sad the book ended as I felt I knew them and they were my friends too. Recommended to read ASAP.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Absolutely loved [it], great book from start to finish.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Loved this book from start to finish, the characters were so real and I felt like a member of the family.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A compelling, heartwarming tale… Full of laughter, heartache, humour and wistful romance… A story of sisterhood and one I am certain will stay with me forever.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A heart-warming story… Thoroughly enjoyable.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

‘A lively, entertaining romance’ The Herald

About the author

Helen Yendall has had dozens of short stories and a serial published in women’s magazines over the past twenty years and now writes female-focused WW2 novels. She’s a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association.

She studied English and German at Leeds University and has worked in a variety of roles: for a literary festival, a university, a camping club, a children’s charity and in marketing and export sales. But her favourite job is the one she still has: teaching creative writing to adults.

Although a proud Brummie by birth, Helen now lives in the North Cotswolds with her husband and cocker spaniel, Bonnie. When she’s not teaching or writing, she likes reading, swimming, tennis and walking in the beautiful countryside where she lives.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
November 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

Frustrating12231 ,

Nothing to say

Weak characters.

More Books Like This

Lighthouse Beach Lighthouse Beach
2018
Careful, He Might Hear You Careful, He Might Hear You
2012
The High Season The High Season
2018
The Banksia Bay Beach Shack The Banksia Bay Beach Shack
2020
Embassy Wife Embassy Wife
2021
Friends Like Us Friends Like Us
2021

More Books by Helen Yendall

A Wartime Secret A Wartime Secret
2022
The Highland Girls on Guard The Highland Girls on Guard
2024

Customers Also Bought

The Poppy Sisters The Poppy Sisters
2023
The Shadow Network The Shadow Network
2024
The Last Letter from London The Last Letter from London
2023
The Silk Code The Silk Code
2023
The Lost Orphan The Lost Orphan
2023
The German Messenger The German Messenger
2023

Other Books in This Series