The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker

    • 4.1 • 38 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

‘A charming read!’ Heidi Swain

‘A wonderful antidote to a harsh world’ Bella Osborne

Meet Lucy, aged 25, and Brenda, aged 79. Neighbours, and unlikely friends.

‘Laughter and tears combine in this heartwarming story of female friendship and love across all generations.’ Phillipa Ashley

Lucy Baker is not your usual 25-year-old. She is more at home reading and knitting in her cluttered little flat than going out partying and socialising.

79-year-old Brenda is full of wise and wonderful advice, but when she’s diagnosed with dementia her life begins to change. Before her memories slip away for ever, Brenda is desperate to fulfil one last wish – to see Lucy happy.

Gifting Lucy the locket that helped Brenda find her own true love, she hopes to push her reticent neighbour in the right direction. But is Lucy Baker ready for the opportunities and heartbreaks of the real world? It’s about time she put her knitting needles aside and found out…

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker will be the most charming, heart-warming and feel-good novel you will read this year, perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Celia Anderson and Gail Honeyman.

*Shortlisted for the Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award*

Readers have fallen in love with Jenni Keer’s stories…

‘So heartwarming and entertaining – I loved the dynamic between Brenda and Lucy.’ Netgalley reviewer

‘A fantastic read that is worth more than five stars!’ Netgalley reviewer

‘The underlying message of the book concerning the friendship between the 25 year old Lucy and 79 year old Brenda was beautifully told.’ Netgalley reviewer

‘The world is such a dark and scary place nowadays, that’s why I loved this sweet story about love and taking chances.’ Netgalley reviewer

‘I adored this book. It had it all for me, friendship, love, comedy – I laughed out loud numerous times – magic, love interest and very sympathetically handled dementia.’ Netgalley reviewer

Reviews

‘I was spellbound . . . A charming read, full of magic and mischief!’ Heidi Swain

‘A magical story about love and friendship, full of fun and sparkle. You won’t be able to resist the cast of quirky characters – especially Gorgeous George!’ Fiona Harper

‘A beautifully heart-warming read with a touch of magic.’ Bella Osborne

‘Laughter and tears combine in this heartwarming story of female friendship and love across all generations.’ Phillipa Ashley

‘So heartwarming and entertaining – I loved the dynamic between Brenda and Lucy.’ Netgalley reviewer

‘A fantastic read that is worth more than five stars!’ Netgalley reviewer

‘The underlying message of the book concerning the friendship between the 25 year old Lucy and 79 year old Brenda was beautifully told.’ Netgalley reviewer

‘The world is such a dark and scary place nowadays, that’s why I loved this sweet story about love and taking chances.’ Netgalley reviewer

‘I adored this book. It had it all for me, friendship, love, comedy – I laughed out loud numerous times – magic, love interest and very sympathetically handled dementia.’ Netgalley reviewer

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
January 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Physics Fashionista ,

A keeper

After having been through two hundred and seventy-three books this year, this is the one I read again. And enjoyed just as much the second time.

Bizbing ,

Wonderful uplifting story

I loved this author’s fluent use off words. The story was fun to read and the characters felt like old friends. You couldn’t help but root for Lucy. Such a warm ending, but so sad I finished it.

Tiggy/Cookie ,

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker

I loved this book ! First time reading this author, but I will definitely be looking for other books by her. A wonderfully long story beautifully told.

More Books Like This

The Dog Year The Dog Year
2014
What Would Mary Berry Do? What Would Mary Berry Do?
2014
Spooky Little Girl Spooky Little Girl
2010
Sleeping with Beauty Sleeping with Beauty
2005
The Proper Care and Maintenance of Friendship The Proper Care and Maintenance of Friendship
2011
The Florabama Ladies' Auxiliary and Sewing Circle The Florabama Ladies' Auxiliary and Sewing Circle
2002

More Books by Jenni Keer

No. 23 Burlington Square No. 23 Burlington Square
2023
The Secrets of Hawthorn Place The Secrets of Hawthorn Place
2021
The Legacy of Halesham Hall The Legacy of Halesham Hall
2022
The Unlikely Life of Maisie Meadows The Unlikely Life of Maisie Meadows
2019
At the Stroke of Midnight At the Stroke of Midnight
2024

Customers Also Bought

A Christmas Gift A Christmas Gift
2021
Let It Snow Let It Snow
2022
The Little Cornish Kitchen The Little Cornish Kitchen
2020
The Start of Something The Start of Something
2022
Elodie’s Library of Second Chances Elodie’s Library of Second Chances
2022
The Sister Surprise The Sister Surprise
2021