• $2.99

Publisher Description

The Cornish beach house creaked in the salty sea wind and, from the weathered wooden porch, Mara watched a lone magpie circle above. It was silly to think that it somehow represented her mother’s spirit, but she had the feeling that her mother was with her, somehow. That she still hadn’t moved on: there was something keeping her here. A secret that needed to be told.

 

When Mara Hughes inherits her late mother’s tumbledown beach house overlooking the bright, sandy sweep of Magpie Cove, it couldn’t have come at a worse time. With her marriage on the rocks and her husband threatening to take the family home, the beach house – with all the bittersweet memories it holds – might be the thing that finally sends Mara’s world crashing down around her. She tells herself she’ll only spend a few days there: sell it and move on to figuring out how to rebuild her life.  

 

When Mara arrives, the house is in a worse state than she feared – holes in the bedroom ceiling, birds’ nests in the attic and the beautiful, wrap-around porch on the brink of collapse… but she loves it anyway. With all its history it feels like the last link to her late mother and, determined to do whatever it takes to keep it in the family, Mara strikes a deal with local handyman – and town heartthrob – Brian Oakley to save the crumbling cottage from ruin.


But when a box of unopened old letters arrives on her new doorstep – a bequest from her mother’s will – Mara’s resolves to save the beach house will be tested to the limit. Because Mara’s mother’s perfect childhood in Magpie Cove was forever spoiled by one haunting day in July, and the letters contain a secret about her family that Mara can scarcely believe to be true… 

 

A story of secrets, family and forgiveness, this heartfelt summer read is perfect for fans of Pamela Kelley, The Hideaway and Liz Fenwick.

 

What readers are saying about The House at Magpie Cove:

I loved this book. Read in a night. Brilliant… All the secrets Mara's mother had made a great story. A must read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Totally transported to the windswept shores of Cornwall for the most intriguing read… this book was full of fabulous surprises, I cannot praise it enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A delightful story about new beginnings and healing.’ Goodreads reviewer


Had trouble putting it down… Would highly recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘I really enjoyed this book. I loved the setting. Set in Cornwall… It’s such a good page turner… it’s definitely a book that will have its readers captivated.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
November 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
291
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Annette414 ,

Great beach read

This was a nice quick story. Mara and her kids go to the beach house that belonged to her mother. It’s falling down and needs repairs plus her husband wants a divorce.
Magpie Cove sounds like a lovey place to visit. Towards the end of the book I did want to shake some sense into Mara.
I enjoyed the story. Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the early copy

penny42058 ,

Page turner

This is the first book I’ve read by Kennedy Kerr and I really enjoyed it. Mara’s husband has recently kicked her out of the family home with their twins, John and Franny, so he can move in his mistress of two years. Mara learns from the solicitor handling the Hughes estate that she’s been left a house that her mother, Abby, never told her about. The house needs a lot of work, if she hopes to sell it and get the twins and her a new place. How is everything going to turn out? Grab your copy and find out the many secrets that Abby kept. Even though this was a good book, I felt it left too many unanswered questions, so that’s why I only gave four stars.

I received an advanced reader copy of this book from NetGalley and Bookouture and this is my voluntary and honest review.