The Hugh Corbett Omnibus The Hugh Corbett Omnibus

The Hugh Corbett Omnibus

Three gripping medieval mysteries

    • 4.7 • 23 Ratings
    • $1.99
    • $1.99

Publisher Description

Delve into the world of medieval sleuth Hugh Corbett in the first three mysteries featuring the intrepid detective, from acclaimed historical author Paul Doherty. Includes Satan in St Mary's, Crown in Darkness and Spy in Chancery. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters, Susanna Gregory, Michael Jecks and Robin Hobb.

Satan in St Mary's:

1284: Edward I is battling a traitorous movement founded by the late Simon de Montfort, the rebel who lost his life at the Battle of Evesham in 1258. The Pentangle, the movement's underground society whose members are known to practice the black arts, is thought to be behind the apparent suicide of Lawrence Duket, one of the King's loyal subjects. The King, deeply suspicious of the affair, orders his wily Chancellor, Burnell, to look into the matter. Burnell chooses a sharp and clever clerk from the Court of King's Bench, Hugh Corbett, to conduct the investigation. Corbett - together with his manservant, Ranulf - is swiftly drawn into the tangled politics and dark and dangerous underworld of medieval London.

Crown in Darkness:
1286: on a storm-ridden night, King Alexander III of Scotland is riding across the Firth of Forth to meet his beautiful French bride Yolande. He never reaches his final destination as his horse mysteriously slips, sending them both crashing to their death on the rocks. The Scottish throne is left vacant of any real heir and immediately the great European princes and the powerful nobles of Alexander's kingdom start fighting for the glittering prize. The Chancellor of England, Burnell, ever mindful of the interest his king, Edward I, has in Scotland, sends his faithful clerk, Hugh Corbett, to report on the chaotic situation at the Scottish court. Concerned that a connection exists between the king's death and those now desirous of taking the Scottish throne, Corbett is drawn into a maelstrom of intrigue, conspiracy and danger.

Spy in Chancery:
Edward I of England and Philip IV of France are at war. Philip, by devious means, has managed to seize control of the English duchy of Aquitaine in France, and is now determined to crush Edward. King Edward suspects that his enemy is being aided by a spy in the English court and commissions his chancery clerk, Hugh Corbett, to trace and, if possible, destroy the traitor. Corbett's mission brings him into danger on both land and at sea, and takes him to Paris, and its dangerous underworld, and then to hostile Wales. Unwillingly he is drawn into the murky undercurrents of international politics in the last decade of the thirteenth century.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
October 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
453
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
5.8
MB

More Books Like This

Spy in Chancery (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 3) Spy in Chancery (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 3)
2012
The Assassin in the Greenwood (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 7) The Assassin in the Greenwood (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 7)
2012
Act of Oblivion Act of Oblivion
2022
Kemp: The Castle in the Marsh Kemp: The Castle in the Marsh
2019
Wars of the Roses: Stormbird Wars of the Roses: Stormbird
2014
Kemp: An Arrow for the Crown Kemp: An Arrow for the Crown
2021

More Books by Paul Doherty

The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1) The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)
2012
Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9) Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9)
2012
A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1) A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1)
2013

Customers Also Bought

Nightshade Nightshade
2011
The Mark Of A Murderer The Mark Of A Murderer
2010
An Unholy Alliance An Unholy Alliance
2010
A Conspiracy Of Violence A Conspiracy Of Violence
2010
A Killer In Winter A Killer In Winter
2010
A Deadly Brew A Deadly Brew
2010