The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

    • 3.9 • 15 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

From bestselling author Chelsea Sedoti comes a comedic young adult mystery with "one of the most relatable characters in recent young adult literature" (Book Page), perfect for fans of John Green and Jandy Nelson. Hawthorn Creely's not one to get involved in other people's business. But a missing person's investigation? That's another matter…

Hawthorn wasn't trying to insert herself into a missing person's investigation. Or maybe she was. But that's only because Lizzie Lovett's disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don't happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she'll turn up at any moment—which means the time for speculation is now.

So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie's disappearance. A theory way too absurd to take seriously…at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie's life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie's boyfriend. After all, it's not as if he killed her—or did he?

Told with a unique voice that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching, Hawthorn's quest for proof may uncover the greatest truth is within herself.

Perfect for buyers looking for:

•funny books for teens
•character-driven coming-of-age stories
•the young adult books best sellers 2017

Also by Chelsea Sedoti:

It Came from the Sky

As You Wish

Praise for The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett:

"A dark, comedic mystery about a girl's quest for proof that ultimately helps her discover some truths about herself. We officially love Hawthorn. [O]ffbeat, smart and awesome."—Justine Magazine

"Sedoti's debut offers an enlightening look at the dangers of relying on outward appearances to judge someone's character, and Hawthorn's first-person narrative, filled with obsessive thoughts and, eventually, meaningful reflection, is a lively, engaging vehicle for the story… Fans of character-driven novels will appreciate this."—Booklist

"Hawthorn and Lizzie both emerge as surprising, intricate characters whose stories are resonant and memorable."—Publishers Weekly

"Hawthorn is an engaging young woman with a vivid imagination...With an interesting and diverse supporting cast, this novel is full of topics that are relevant to teens: bullying, self-esteem, family dynamics, and suicide. Highly recommended."—Shelf Awarenes

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
January 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Sourcebooks
SELLER
Sourcebooks, Inc.
SIZE
1.8
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 8-12

Customer Reviews

User072119 ,

I Just Couldn't get into it

I was provided an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

When I first received my ARC of The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti, I was very excited because I had heard so many great things from other bloggers about it.

It took me quite a few chapters to really get into this book. Twelve chapters to be exact. It wasn't that the story was boring, but that Hawthorne Creely really got on my nerves.

Hawthorne doesn't have too many friends, but then pushes the one friend she does have away by being rude and self-centered. She complains that she is always bored, but then never does anything but sit at home, even when she is invited out. Also, she is pretty terrible to her older brother Rush. He tries multiple times to reach out to her and be nice, because he clearly does care about her, but she is always rude and dismissive towards him all because he was a popular jock in high school.

Hawthorne did redeem herself in my eyes towards the end of the book. She seemed to have matured and grown up. Although I probably won't read this book again and it isn't one of my favorites, it was a good story once I was able to get into it.

***Spoiler Below***

***Read At Your Own Risk***

The romantic in me wanted to see something happened between Hawthorne and Connor. Although, in a way I am happy that the book ended the way it did because it focused on the personal growth of Hawthorne.

Nike_Ninja ,

Boring

Absolutely nothing happens in this book. It's just the main character, Hawthorne, complaining about everything, being self centered, and nosey (she starts "investigating" the murder of a girl she knew in highschool by sleeping with that dead girl's boyfriend🤦🏾‍♀️). She got on my nerves the whole time I was reading this. Do. Not. Read. This. Book. Please, I'm begging you. It's not worth it.

lizzieliz33 ,

my favorite author of all time

i cannot expression my love for the book and the endless ideas that it presents

More Books Like This

2015
2012
2022
2017
2016
2010

More Books by Chelsea Sedoti

2023
2018
2020