• $11.99

Publisher Description

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: Washington Post • NPR • Entertainment Weekly • Real Simple • Marie Claire • New York Public Library • LibraryReads • The Skimm • Lit Hub • Lit Reactor 

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A captivating family saga.”—The New York Times Book Review

“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)


If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
January 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Madeleinexo ,

Loved it!

purchased this book at random shortly after it came out and started creating buzz. I’m so glad that I did! It is a very inspiring story that basically anyone on earth could identify with one way or another. Sometimes books come along your path at a certain time in your life for a message you need to read or hear. They come as signs that fate and the universe are working WITH you. This book did that for me. This book includes SUCH rich character details and really adds to the depth of the story. The author did such a fabulous job (so much so that halfway through reading the book, I googled the author to find more books written by them!!!) The Immoralists tackles issues such as the fine line between destiny and freedom of choice, reality and illusions, this world or the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the long familiarity of the family bonds that we all have experienced, good or bad.

goodwin4566 ,

Ok book

Hard to embrace each character and the end was scattered. I was flipping pages to get through it so I could finish.

rodagodson ,

Good book

First 2 parts I genuinely loved but as the story went on started to lose that flair. Still a great read with some great moments.

More Books by Chloe Benjamin