• $10.99

Publisher Description

Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets--perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why -- or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.

To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch -- and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2020
September 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
3.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 7-12

Customer Reviews

Friendy430 ,

Amazing

This book is the most well thought and put together story I have ever read. It is worth the money and the feeling of solving the puzzle at the end and everything making sense is just mind blowing. How the author came up with all of this is beyond me but I am stunned. As much as you try to understand and solve things they always take such a turn and your back to square one! Love it!!!

JPA311 ,

Not the best, but not the worst.

I felt like this story would never end and get to the point. A little slow and juvenile, but all in all a good story line. Cliff hanger at the end.

ShaunaMo! ,

Cute Story, No Surprises

The “big reveal” wasn’t a shock. It was a given from the beginning. Doesn’t make me want to read the next one. Still a fun story. Not a waste of time.

More Books by Jennifer Lynn Barnes