The Jane Austen Project The Jane Austen Project

The Jane Austen Project

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 55 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

“The most brilliant Austen-adjacent book on the market. . . . Flynn’s style makes this a quick, fun read, and since the story is Jane-related there’s even a romantic subplot.”  — Vulture

“What lover of literature hasn’t dreamed of going back in time to meet Jane Austen? . . . . Kathleen A. Flynn brings this dream to life, creating a vivid portrait of Regency England in all its glory and squalor.” —Lauren Belfer, author of After the Fire and A Fierce Radiance

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team from the future to “go back,” their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen’s circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane’s fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it. . . however heartbreaking that may prove.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
May 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Harper Perennial
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Griffchick ,

Intelligent and Captivating

I started reading this book because I broke my back and had already watched TV and played on my phone as much as I could stand. The concept was baffling- and frankly absurd to me. Time traveling back to see Jane Austen? But the reviews made me give it a shot and wow, am I glad I did. This is an EXCELLENT read. The authors prose, her clear literary knowledge of both the subject and related authors, as well as convincing articulation of time travel variables made this story not just conceivable, but respectable and enthralling. In a world filled with terrible novels, this book is truly phenomenal. Read it. You will be enlightened and gratified.

More Books Like This

Trains and Lovers Trains and Lovers
2013
Execution Execution
2020
I'll Be Your Blue Sky I'll Be Your Blue Sky
2018
Eighteen Eighteen
2004
The Winshaw Legacy The Winshaw Legacy
1995
Persistence Persistence
2017

More Books by Kathleen A. Flynn

Customers Also Bought

'Till Time Do Us Part 'Till Time Do Us Part
2021
Rhapsody in Dreams Rhapsody in Dreams
2021
Jane Austen at Home Jane Austen at Home
2017
Variation on a Theme Variation on a Theme
2021
Whispers of the Runes Whispers of the Runes
2021
What Would Jane Austen Do? What Would Jane Austen Do?
2023