• $5.99

Publisher Description

A violent history lurks beneath the white-washed facade of Cicatrice, Louisiana. And that evil is waking up.


"An expertly layered work of impressive scope, The Jilted will leave you pondering the real-life differences between good and evil.”

~Kristen Mae, bestselling author of Red Water

 

BLOODIED HANDS. WHISPERED WORDS. BURIED TRUTHS.


It’s been two weeks since Chloe Anderson’s fiancé, Victor, disappeared with his daughter, and each night since, Chloe has awakened from the same horrible dream. She’s convinced the nightmares are trying to tell her something, especially when she finds Victor’s camera at an old antique shop downtown—a place where the shadows of the past roam the cobbled streets.


Chloe takes a job at the shop, hoping Victor will return for his prized possession. But when she’s sent to do an antiques appraisal on the outskirts of New Orleans, she feels the energy of the sprawling plantation like an icy hand on her back, drawing her away from the shop—and sucking her in. Perhaps it’s the plantation’s mysterious owner triggering her long-dormant intuition. But intuition doesn’t explain the terrifying visions that now plague her waking hours, or the mutilated girl who stalks her from the shadows, vanishing when Chloe tries to speak to her. And the voices . . . 


Come to me.

Watch out for the dark, child.


Is this what Victor meant when he told her he’d felt possessed? Is she losing her mind the way he did? 


Now Chloe must look deep within herself, summoning a power she’s tamped down since childhood, because the thing that took Victor is an old, vicious darkness, far more ancient than the horrors that seep from every branch on the white-washed plantation—more appalling than the hideous acts of violence that lurk in each long-abandoned cemetery. And if she cannot defeat the evil, if she succumbs to the madness, the creature stalking the town will take Victor, take Chloe . . . and make sure no one leaves Cicatrice alive.


For fans of Stephen King, Nick Cutter, and Thomas Heuvelt, this breathtaking supernatural thriller is a masterfully crafted novel about what horrors might exist on the other side—whether we believe they are there or not.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
February 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
310
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pygmalion Publishing
SELLER
Pygmalion Publishing
SIZE
14.8
MB

Customer Reviews

bt4trees ,

Read with ALL the lights on!

Hooooooleeeee crap, this story really got under my skin! Intense creepiness! I love the supernatural aspects, too. This kind of horror is my favorite….when the lines of reality blur and totally freak you out! Brings me back to the days when I’d stay up all night reading Stephen King!

I’m a fan of O’Flynn already, but this brought my fandom to a new level. I love horror, and this author’s story crafting is as good as it gets. The New Orleans setting combined with the characters and hella creepy story make for a very viscreal read that’ll stick with you for d-a-y-s after you finish it << that’s the best kind of book hangover!

Brooke F. ,

Suspenseful and haunting!

Wow! The images from The Jilted have haunted me since I read it. It’s creepy, suspenseful and full of surprises! The characters pull at your heart and have you gutted by the end.

More Books by Meghan O'Flynn