The Kingdom The Kingdom

The Kingdom

    • 4.4 • 17 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

A half-android, half-human girl is accused of murder in Jess Rothenberg's tautly-paced YA thriller, The Kingdom, perfect for fans of Westworld and The Lunar Chronicles.

"Wildly addictive and beautifully terrifying... Readers will leave this glittering theme park forgetting what is real."—Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles

Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t just a promise, but a rule.


Glimmering like a jewel behind its gateway, The Kingdom™ is an immersive fantasy theme park where guests soar on virtual dragons, castles loom like giants, and bioengineered species—formerly extinct—roam free.

Ana is one of seven Fantasists, beautiful “princesses” engineered to make dreams come true. When she meets park employee Owen, Ana begins to experience emotions beyond her programming including, for the first time… love.

But the fairytale becomes a nightmare when Ana is accused of murdering Owen, igniting the trial of the century. Through courtroom testimony, interviews, and Ana’s memories of Owen, emerges a tale of love, lies, and cruelty—and what it truly means to be human.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2019
May 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
29.5
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9-13

Customer Reviews

my_name_is: ,

Odd but amazing

I enjoyed this book a lot. Can I just say, I had no idea where she was going with this and I was scared she was going to ruin the ending. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The characters are lovable—especially Owen (😍)—the plot was unpredictable and fast-paced. It definitely exceeded my expectations and I loved every step of the way. If there was a book 2 (pls) I would definitely read it. The plot was set up a bit differently than I’m used to, but that made it all the more better. I’m not gonna lie, it wasn’t my fav, but most certainly not the worst. If you like romance, futuristic worlds, and checking out unique books, I’d recommend it.

abskii ,

100/10

Everything I could ever ask for in a book

More Books Like This

The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl
2017
The Adoration of Jenna Fox The Adoration of Jenna Fox
2009
Eve of Man Eve of Man
2019
The Knowing The Knowing
2017
Dying Ember, Olden Ash Dying Ember, Olden Ash
2020
Eve and Adam Eve and Adam
2012

More Books by Jess Rothenberg

The Catastrophic History of You And Me The Catastrophic History of You And Me
2012
El Reino El Reino
2023
The Kingdom The Kingdom
2019
A catastrófica história de nós dois A catastrófica história de nós dois
2012

Customers Also Bought

The Babysitters Coven The Babysitters Coven
2019
Blanca & Roja Blanca & Roja
2018
This Is Not the Jess Show This Is Not the Jess Show
2021
The Princess and the Fangirl The Princess and the Fangirl
2019
Wicked As You Wish Wicked As You Wish
2020
Star Daughter Star Daughter
2020