The Last of the Apple Blossom The Last of the Apple Blossom

The Last of the Apple Blossom

    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

The fire took everything - except two women's fighting spirits. A sweeping, big-hearted Australian family saga for readers of Judy Nunn and Victoria Purman.

7 February, 1967. Walls of flame reduce much of Tasmania to ash.

Young schoolteacher Catherine Turner rushes to the Huon Valley to find her family's apple orchard destroyed, her childhood home in ruins and her brother dead. Despite her father's declaration that a woman will never run the orchard, Catherine resolves to rebuild the family business.

After five sons, Catherine's friend and neighbour, Annie Pearson, is overjoyed by the birth of a much longed for daughter. As Annie and her husband Dave work to repair the damage to their orchard, Dave's friend Mark pitches in, despite the fact that Annie wants him gone. Mark has moved his family to the valley to escape his life in Melbourne, but his wife has disappeared leaving chaos in her wake and their young son Charlie in Mark's care.

Catherine becomes fond of Charlie, whose strange upbringing has left him shy and withdrawn. However, the growing friendship between Mark and Catherine not only scandalises the small community but threatens a secret Annie is desperate to keep hidden. Through natural disasters, personal calamities and the devastating collapse of the apple industry, Catherine, Annie and those they love battle to save their livelihoods, their families and their secrets.

PRAISE FOR THE LAST OF THE APPLE BLOSSOM:

'An outstanding historical novel about women and the secrets and burdens they carry' - The Australian

'What a cracker of a debut! A beautiful story of family and orchards, of secrets and love and forgiveness' - Victoria Purman, author of The Nurses' War

'The crisp prose sparkles and the characters stay with you long after the story ends' - Lauren Chater, author of Gulliver's Wife

'Australian historical fiction at its finest ... It will linger in your mind and heart long after the last page.' - Karen Brooks, author of The Good Wife of Bath

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
August 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Fiction
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.7
MB

More Books by Mary-Lou Stephens

Sex, Drugs and Meditation Sex, Drugs and Meditation
2021
The Chocolate Factory The Chocolate Factory
2024

Customers Also Bought

The Buchanan Girls The Buchanan Girls
2021
Daughter of the Hunter Valley Daughter of the Hunter Valley
2021
The Lawson Sisters The Lawson Sisters
2020
Daughter of the Home Front Daughter of the Home Front
2022
All About Ella All About Ella
2021
Becoming Beth Becoming Beth
2022