• $3.99

Publisher Description

The town is a powder keg ready to explode… All it needs is a match.

England, 1320. The threat of civil war lies heavily on the kingdom. The monk Ralph of Houndeslow is new to Crediton’s leper hospital. He finds that not only are his charges appallingly ill, but bigotry means that they are all shunned by the people of the town.

The citizens of Crediton are appalled when the goldsmith is found murdered, and his daughter assaulted. Sir Baldwin Furnshill and Simon Puttock quickly try to piece together the events of that night, yet as they gradually learn the truth, the shock becomes overwhelming.

Meanwhile, the lepers lie victim to the rising hatred of the locals as fear and loathing are whipped into a frenzy of persecution. It’s up to Baldwin and Simon to pour water on the blazing rumours. Civil war, a murder investigation and full scale public uproar with dark implications put Baldwin and Simon to the test once again…

An exceptional historical mystery from a true master of the genre, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom, Rory Clements and Susanna Gregory.

Praise for Michael Jecks

'Michael Jecks is the master of the medieval whodunnit' Robert Low

'A gem of historical storytelling' Northern Echo

'Michael Jecks is a national treasure' Scotland on Sunday

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
June 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
453
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
729.5
KB

More Books by Michael Jecks

Other Books in This Series