The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School

    • 4.5 • 51 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

National Book Award Finalist * William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Walter Honor Award Winner * Pura Belpré Honor Book * Lambda Literary Award Winner for LGBTQ+ Young Adult

A sharply funny and moving debut novel about a queer Mexican American girl navigating Catholic school, while falling in love and learning to celebrate her true self. Perfect for fans of Erika L. Sánchez, Leah Johnson, and Gabby Rivera.

Sixteen-year-old Yamilet Flores prefers to be known for her killer eyeliner, not for being one of the only Mexican kids at her new, mostly white, very rich Catholic school. But at least here no one knows she’s gay, and Yami intends to keep it that way. 

After being outed by her crush and ex-best friend before transferring to Slayton Catholic, Yami has new priorities: keep her brother out of trouble, make her mom proud, and, most importantly, don’t fall in love. Granted, she’s never been great at any of those things, but that’s a problem for Future Yami. 

The thing is, it’s hard to fake being straight when Bo, the only openly queer girl at school, is so annoyingly perfect. And smart. And talented. And cute. So cute. Either way, Yami isn’t going to make the same mistake again. If word got back to her mom, she could face a lot worse than rejection. So she’ll have to start asking, WWSGD: What would a straight girl do? 

Told in a captivating voice that is by turns hilarious, vulnerable, and searingly honest, The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School explores the joys and heartaches of living your full truth out loud.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2022
May 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Balzer + Bray
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.4
MB
AUDIENCE
Eighth Grade

Customer Reviews

claudiar12 ,

A riveting and incredibly sweet read

There are some AMAZING Latina/Chicana/Latinx authors in the YA field and Sonora Reyes is one of them. This story is so important I found myself reading this and seeing myself in the characters, my besties, my parents, my friends parents. The softening of Yami through her interactions with Bo, the roasting relationship between her and her brother, the fierceness and sharpness of her mom. As a mid-30s Chicana, this book had me saying again and again I wish I had books like these when I was younger. I seldom saw myself or my community in YA lit and the way I could feel and hear and connect in such an affirming way makes me so happy this book exists and takes on sexuality, identity and culture in such a meaningful way.

Yesi17* ,

It’s really good

This book made me feel. It made me cry and laugh and put me through all the emotions. When I finished it, I just had to hug it.
It does deal with some heavy topics but it does so really well. It especially felt for the family aspect and how both parents reacted so differently. The Latin aspect also felt natural and not forced at all. I definitely recommend reading it.

I bought first in paperback but I felt I really needed a digital edition.

bookloverimanii ,

i LOVED this

this book was so cute and funny and sad and i loved it. i feel like this is the type of book that a lot of teens can relate to (religion, sexuality, mental health, and relationship problems). i’ve never genuinely cried over a book but this made me tear up in the best way possible! 10/10 would recommend

More Books Like This

2023
2016
2015
2013
2023
2021

More Books by Sonora Reyes

2023
2023
2024
2022

Customers Also Bought

2022
2023
2023
2021
2020
2021