• Pre-Order
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

A con artist, a vigilante, and a crime lord unite to save their city from the slow corruption of dark and dangerous magic in this dazzling fantasy adventure.
Trust is the thread that binds us. And the rope that hangs us.
In Nadežra, peace is as tenuous as a single thread. The ruthless House Indestor has been destroyed, but darkness still weaves through the city’s filthy alleys and jewel-bright gardens, seen by those who know where to look.

Derossi Vargo has always known. He has sacrificed more than anyone imagines to carve himself a position of power and influence among the nobility, hiding a will of steel behind a velvet smile. He'll be damned if he lets anyone threaten what he's built.
Grey Serrado knows all too well. Bent under the yoke of too many burdens, he fights to protect the city’s most vulnerable. Sooner or later, that fight will demand more than he can give.
And Ren, daughter of no clan, knows best of all. Caught in a knot of lies, torn between her heritage and her aristocratic masquerade, she relies on her gift for reading pattern to survive. And it shows her the web of darkness that traps her city.
But all three have yet to discover just how far that web stretches. And in the end, it will take more than wits and knives to cut themselves free.

Praise for the Rook & Rose trilogy:

“Lush, engrossing and full of mystery and dark magic . . . Jump in and get swept away.”BookPage

“Will catch hold of your dreams and keep you from sleeping.” —Mary Robinette Kowal

“Utterly captivating.” —S. A. Chakraborty

“I was unable to put it down.” —Andrea Stewart

“Exactly the fantasy adventure novel you’re craving.” —Tasha Suri 

“A fantastically twisty read.” —Fran Wilde

“I was entranced by this glittering world.” —Katy Rose Pool

“An intricate, compelling dream of a book.” —Melissa Caruso

“An absolute delight.” —Marshall Ryan Maresca

“A tightly laced plot dripping with political intrigue.”Publishers Weekly

“A feast to savor slowly.” BuzzFeed

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
December 7
Hachette Digital, Inc.

More Books by M. A. Carrick

Other Books in This Series