The Library at Wagtail Ridge The Library at Wagtail Ridge

The Library at Wagtail Ridge

    • 4.0 • 4 Ratings
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

An unexpected and unusual inheritance sets a young woman on the road to discover her mother's deepest secret. A charming and heartfelt rural romance perfect for readers of Rachael Johns and Karly Lane.

When Lou Taylor inherits a quaint country cottage and a mobile library full of books from her birth mother, she heads to the small town of Wagtail Ridge to learn more about the woman she never knew. Curiously, the last piece of the bequest is a handwritten letter, the first of many Luca left scattered along the library's route in hopes of finally sharing her secrets with the daughter she had to give up.

The townspeople of Wagtail Ridge flock around Lou, wanting to share the stories of Luca's life, but she knows she must learn about her birth mother in the way Luca intended. Jake Barnes, her new neighbour, offers to help her follow the trail, but weighing on his conscience is a promise he made to Luca - a secret that now stands between him and the woman who's slowly capturing his heart...

As the kilometres fly by, Lou gradually untangles who her mother was and what lay behind the choices she made. At the same time, she finds herself drawing ever closer to kind, handsome Jake. But will it all be enough to keep her in Wagtail Ridge when she has another happy life waiting for her in the city?

A captivating story of love, family and belonging from award-winning romance author Janet Gover.

WINNER: Romantic Elements RuBY 2023, Romance Writers of Australia

PRAISE FOR JANET GOVER:

'Tender, caring and wise, Close to Home is a book to embrace with all your heart.' - Mrs B's Book Reviews

'Like the warmth of a cup of tea and the atmosphere of smells from the cake baking this story will fuse all the senses and bring a smile to the face ... a new dimension to a heartwarming outback tale.' - HappyValley BooksReads

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
December 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Mira
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Former redhead ,

I was rooting for this one…

I liked being introduced (& re-introduced) to so many fundamental Australian favorites (many of which I was able to add to my online library free of charge). However, geez! Is there a minimum page count for these romance novels ( which I usually avoid)? It was thoroughly padded with back & forth, and back & forth- she’s staying…no, by dingo! She’s going! Oh, well… she’s stayyyying…No! No, she’s Going!! Definitely going!! That got so sickeningly predictable it was ridiculous. This book just could have been interesting but I would be embarrassed to recommend it to a friend. And why does everyone have to have ‘flecks’ in their eyes? Good grief. Ms. Author, you can do better. I think.

More Books Like This

The Peach Keeper The Peach Keeper
2011
Women of a Dangerous Age Women of a Dangerous Age
2013
The Guest House by the Sea The Guest House by the Sea
2023
The Cafe at Beach End The Cafe at Beach End
2023
The Sugar Queen The Sugar Queen
2008
July/August Buzz Books Monthly July/August Buzz Books Monthly
2018

More Books by Janet Gover

Marrying the Rebel Prince Marrying the Rebel Prince
2018
The Lawson Sisters The Lawson Sisters
2020
The Bachelor and Spinster Ball The Bachelor and Spinster Ball
2011
Christmas at Coorah Creek Christmas at Coorah Creek
2022
Flight to Coorah Creek Flight to Coorah Creek
2022
Close to Home Close to Home
2021

Customers Also Bought

The Promise of Home The Promise of Home
2022
The Man From Shadow Creek The Man From Shadow Creek
2023
Home Among the Palm Trees Home Among the Palm Trees
2022
Shelter from the Storm Shelter from the Storm
2023
Paperbark Hill Paperbark Hill
2022
The Vet's Country Holiday The Vet's Country Holiday
2022