The Light After the War The Light After the War

The Light After the War

A Novel

    • 4.2 • 55 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, this “heartfelt and memorable tale of family, love, resilience, and the triumph of human spirit” (Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author) spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the postwar years from Naples to Caracas, perfect for fans of The German Girl and We Were the Lucky Ones.

Spring 1946: Best friends Vera Frankel and Edith Ban arrive in Naples. Refugees from Hungary, they managed to escape from a train headed for Auschwitz and spent the rest of the war hiding on an Austrian farm. Now, the two young women are starting new lives abroad.

Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American officer, Vera finds work at the United States embassy where she falls in love with Captain Anton Wight. But as Vera and Edith grapple with the aftermath of the war, so too does Anton, and when he suddenly disappears, Vera is forced to change course. Their quest for a better life takes Vera and Edith from Naples to Ellis Island to Caracas as they start careers, reunite with old friends, and rebuild their lives after terrible loss.

Moving, evocative, and compelling, The Light After the War is a timely and “unforgettable story of strength, love, and survival” (Jillian Cantor, USA TODAY bestselling author).

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
February 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
9.8
MB

More Books by Anita Abriel

Lana's War Lana's War
2021
A Girl During the War A Girl During the War
2022
La luz después de la guerra La luz después de la guerra
2021
Světlo po válce Světlo po válce
2021
A remény útjain A remény útjain
2021

Customers Also Bought

The Whispers of War The Whispers of War
2020
Paris Never Leaves You Paris Never Leaves You
2020
The French Gift The French Gift
2021
Children of the Stars Children of the Stars
2020
In Another Time In Another Time
2019
The Lost Song of Paris The Lost Song of Paris
2022