The Lion of Troezen

    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

 "Both sensual and moving, the perfect balance of sweetness and spice."
 --Libbie Hawker, bestselling author of Daughter of Sand and Stone and The Sehkmet Bed

 More than 40 years before the events of Helen of Sparta--

 When Aethra's hopes for marriage to a hero-prince are dashed by his exile, Aethra's father, the king of Troezen, asks her to sacrifice her prospects altogether. King Aegeus of Athens, recently arrived, is desperately in need of a son and heir, and by the Oracle's own prophecy, Aethra's father is certain she can provide it. For her people's sake, Aethra agrees to welcome the king of Athens to her bed, but before King Aegeus can find his nerve, she's presented with another offer, from Poseidon Earth-Shaker, God of the Sea: give the god her maidenhead in Aegeus's place, and make the heir of Athens Poseidon's own son.

 Neither option is what she's dreamed of, the true companionship of a worthy partner and power and authority in her own right as Queen of Troezen, but the choice Aethra makes will alter the course of her life--and though she cannot know it, influence the fate of not just Troezen and Athens, but all Achaea. 

 The Lion of Troezen, a novella, is the story of Theseus's conception and Aethra's scorchingly hot affair with the great god Poseidon, firmly grounded in the historical Aegean Bronze Age and existing in continuity with Ariadne and the Beast, Tamer of Horses, Helen of Sparta, By Helen's Hand, and The Siren's Song--a perfect read for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, and Natalie Haynes' A Thousand Ships.

"Amalia Carosella has once again plucked from history the tale of an ancient heroine and made her come alive."
---Stephanie Marie Thornton, USA Today bestselling author of The Conqueror's Wife

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
April 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
73
Pages
PUBLISHER
Thorskona Books
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
1.4
MB

More Books Like This

2004
2012
2022
2009
2012
2014

More Books by Amalia Carosella

2018
2016
2019
2021