• $2.99

Publisher Description

“I ended up devouring the entire book in just one sitting… I was completely pulled into this one and found myself completely unable to put this down.” Little Miss Book Lover 87, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

It’s been five years since Detective Amanda Steele’s life was derailed by the tragic death of her young daughter. The small community of Dumfries, Virginia, may have moved on, but Amanda cannot. When the man who killed Lindsey is found murdered, she can’t keep away from the case.

 

Fighting her sergeant to be allowed to work such a personal investigation, Amanda is in a race to prove that she can uncover the truth. But the more she digs into the past of the man who destroyed her future, the more shocking discoveries she makes. And when Amanda finds the link between a silver bracelet in his possession and the brutal unsolved murder of a young woman five years ago, she realizes she’s caught up in something darker than she ever imagined and suspects that more girls could be in danger.

 

But as Amanda edges toward the truth, she gets closer to a secret as personal as it is deadly. Amanda has stumbled upon a dangerous killer, and she must face some terrible truths in order to catch this killer – and save his next victim as she couldn’t save her own daughter…

 

A gripping, page-turning thriller full of mystery and suspense. Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Robert Dugoni.

 

Readers love The Little Grave:

“Your jaw will drop. I loved this book!… I couldn’t catch my breath. The ending will blow you away… Had me turning pages unable to put it down. What an intense ride… A must-read.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this book!” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I LOVED this book… An engrossing page-turner and that ending, phew I didn't see that coming at all!!! Can’t wait for the next in the series.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I already can’t wait for the next one! This one pulls you in from the very beginning… The mystery is full of action and twists. I absolutely did not see that ending coming.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“I sat with the intention of reading just a couple of chapters and ended up devouring the entire book in just one sitting. I have been completely pulled into this one and found myself completely unable to put this down.” Little Miss Book Lover 87, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Compulsive, compelling and enthralling… I became completely riveted… Intrigue to compel you to read through the night.” Avid Reader’s Retreat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“This is a fast-paced, unputdownable story… Exciting and heartbreaking. Never saw that ending! I loved it!Debatably Bookish

 

“Fantastic book. It was exciting and thrilling and kept me reading late into the night.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Full of suspense. Once I started it was very hard to not finish the book. I absolutely loved the ending.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“An exciting, intriguing, pulse-pounding mystery that had so many twists and turns, keeping me glued to my kindle… Suspenseful, intense.” The Reading Café, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Gripping mystery—hooked me from the beginning.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Such an intense, fantastic read for me. I was enthralled throughout the entire book… Chilling.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Keeps you on pins and needles until the terrific conclusion.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
January 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
367
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3.9
MB

Customer Reviews

MrsM22 ,

A gritty, fast-paced police procedural.

Carolyn Arnold has brought on quite the start to her latest, thoroughly addicting crime thriller, "The Little Grave." Once it gets started, it doesn't let up until the end. It's a gritty, fast-paced police procedural, and book one of the Detective Amanda Steele Series!

Five and a half years after the tragic death of her husband and six-year-old daughter, due to the carelessness of a drunk driver, Detective Amanda Steele is face to face with the remains of their killer. Instead of stepping down due to the apparent conflict of interest, Amanda decides to push forward, hoping that she'll gain some closure by working on this case. What she ends up discovering goes far deeper than she could have ever imagined.

I was immediately hooked; talk about an ominous first chapter. Author Carolyn Arnold has masterfully executed this book in a way that made me feel things down deep for Detective Amanda Steele. Thankfully I've never had to go through the suffering she has; Arnold's writing made her come alive - I felt so much pain and sorrow for Amanda, my heart breaking at every mention of her lost daughter and husband. While some books may spend a little too much time sinking their claws into the reader with a main character's back story, The Little Grave was right on point. The central murder case directly related to Amanda's past, making her history and the dark recesses of her mind all the more relevant. Factor in a couple of additional murders, as well as a twistedly dark subplot, and we've got a story that skillfully ties everything together while still managing to surprise!

I look forward to reading the next installment in this series. I enjoyed the growing partnership between Amanda and Trent, Amanda's reconnection with her family, and the budding romance between Amanda and her new connection. This is another Bookouture book that I would hands down recommend to all of my crime thriller fans. Many thanks to NetGalley, the author Carolyn Arnold, and the publishers at Bookouture for my advanced copy of this ebook. I have honestly and voluntarily reviewed this title.

More Books by Carolyn Arnold

Other Books in This Series