The Lost Book of Bonn The Lost Book of Bonn

The Lost Book of Bonn

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 4 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

For fans of The Rose Code and The Librarian Spy comes another literary themed historical novel from the author of The Librarian of Burned Books.

Germany, 1946: Emmy Clarke is a librarian not a soldier. But that doesn’t stop the Library of Congress from sending her overseas to Germany to help the Monuments Men retrieve and catalog precious literature that was plundered by the Nazis. The Offenbach Archival Depot and its work may get less attention than returning art to its rightful owners, but for Emmy, who sees the personalized messages on the inside of the books and the notes in margins of pages, it feels just as important.

On Emmy’s first day at work, she finds a poetry collection by Rainer Maria Rilke, and on the title page is a handwritten dedication: “To Annelise, my brave Edelweiss Pirate.” Emmy is instantly intrigued by the story behind the dedication and becomes determined to figure out what happened.

The hunt for the rightful owner of the book leads Emmy to two sisters, a horrific betrayal, and an extraordinary protest against the Nazis that was held in Berlin at the height of the war. Nearly a decade earlier, hundreds of brave women gathered in the streets after their Jewish husbands were detained by the Gestapo. Through freezing rain and RAF bombings, the women faced down certain death and did what so few others dared to do under the Third Reich. They said no.

Emmy grapples with her own ghosts as she begins to wonder if she’s just chasing two more. What she finds instead is a powerful story of love, forgiveness, and courage that brings light to even the darkest of postwar days. 

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2024
March 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow Paperbacks
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
3.7
MB

More Books Like This

The Librarian Spy The Librarian Spy
2022
The Violet Hour The Violet Hour
2013
Paris Never Leaves You Paris Never Leaves You
2020
The Mother's Recompense The Mother's Recompense
2021
The Riviera House The Riviera House
2021
Voice of Destiny Voice of Destiny
2013

More Books by Brianna Labuskes

The Librarian of Burned Books The Librarian of Burned Books
2023
One Step Behind One Step Behind
2016
La guardiana de los libros quemados La guardiana de los libros quemados
2024
The Boxcar Librarian The Boxcar Librarian
2025
Le Livre perdu d'une pirate de l'Edelweiss Le Livre perdu d'une pirate de l'Edelweiss
2024
A guardiã dos livros queimados A guardiã dos livros queimados
2024

Customers Also Bought

The London Bookshop Affair The London Bookshop Affair
2024
The Secret Keeper The Secret Keeper
2024
The Inheritance The Inheritance
2024
The Paris Deception The Paris Deception
2023
The Last Masterpiece The Last Masterpiece
2023
Before the Storm Before the Storm
2023