The Lost Letter

A Novel

    • 4.6 • 509 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

“A gorgeous and thrilling novel… Perfect for book clubs and fans of The Nightingale.”PopSugar

A historical novel of love and survival inspired by real resistance workers during World War II Austria, and the mysterious love letter that connects generations of Jewish families. A heart-breaking, heart-warming read for fans of The Women in the Castle, Lilac Girls, and Sarah's Key.

Author of the forthcoming In Another Time.

 
Austria, 1938. Kristoff is a young apprentice to a master Jewish stamp engraver. When his teacher disappears during Kristallnacht, Kristoff is forced to engrave stamps for the Germans, and simultaneously works alongside Elena, his beloved teacher's fiery daughter, and with the Austrian resistance to send underground messages and forge papers. As he falls for Elena amidst the brutal chaos of war, Kristoff must find a way to save her, and himself.

Los Angeles, 1989. Katie Nelson is going through a divorce and while cleaning out her house and life in the aftermath, she comes across the stamp collection of her father, who recently went into a nursing home. When an appraiser, Benjamin, discovers an unusual World War II-era Austrian stamp placed on an old love letter as he goes through her dad's collection, Katie and Benjamin are sent on a journey together that will uncover a story of passion and tragedy spanning decades and continents, behind the just fallen Berlin Wall.
 
A romantic, poignant and addictive novel, The Lost Letter shows the lasting power of love.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
June 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
3.1
MB

Customer Reviews

PuPu4 ,

The Lost Letter

At first, I didn’t think this would be good, but soon found that I couldn’t put it down, literally. Having Grandparents that immigrated directly from Poland, this stirred my heart. All things Holocaust interest me, as I am sure my Grandparents were filled with fear, much as the characters written about here. I remember being told how “dear” all things were to them. I even used to collect stamps as a child! I loved the characters in this book…their love for their country, freedom, and each other.Beautifully written!

sometimers3 ,

The Lost Letter

One of the best books I’ve read lately. One like no other. What a lovely ending.

Kwg38 ,

Great Read!

I couldn’t put this book down! I haven’t felt so immersed into a story and its characters such as this in years.

More Books by Jillian Cantor

2013
2019
2022
2015
2010
2021

Customers Also Bought

2019
2018
2013
2018
2019
2018