The Man in My Basement The Man in My Basement

The Man in My Basement

A Novel

    • 4.1 • 62 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

This masterpiece by celebrated New York Times bestselling author Walter Mosley is the mysterious story of a young Black man who agrees to an unusual bargain to save the home that has belonged to his family for generations.

The man at Charles Blakey's door has a proposition almost too strange for words. The stranger offers him $50,000 in cash to spend the summer in Charles's basement, and Charles cannot even begin to guess why. The beautiful house has been in the Blakey family for generations, but Charles has just lost his job and is behind on his mortgage payments. The money would be welcome. But Charles Blakey is black and Anniston Bennet is white, and it is clear that the stranger wants more than a basement view.

There is something deeper and darker about his request, and Charles does not need any more trouble. But financial necessity leaves him no choice. Once Anniston Bennet is installed in his basement, Charles is cast into a role he never dreamed of. Anniston has some very particular requests for his landlord, and try as he might, Charles cannot avoid being lured into Bennet's strange world. At first he resists, but soon he is tempted -- tempted to understand a set of codes that has always eluded him, tempted by the opportunity to understand the secret ways of white folks.

Charles's summer with a man in his basement turns into an exploration of inconceivable worlds of power and manipulation, and unimagined realms of humanity. Walter Mosley pierces long-hidden veins of justice and morality with startling insight into the deepest mysteries of human nature.
The man at Charles Blakey's door has a proposition almost too strange for words. The stranger offers him $50,000 in cash to spend the summer in Charles's basement, and Charles cannot even begin to guess why. The beautiful house has been in the Blakey family for generations, but Charles has just lost his job and is behind on his mortgage payments. The money would be welcome. But Charles Blakey is black and Anniston Bennet is white, and it is clear that the stranger wants more than a basement view.

There is something deeper and darker about his request, and Charles does not need any more trouble. But financial necessity leaves him no choice. Once Anniston Bennet is installed in his basement, Charles is cast into a role he never dreamed of. Anniston has some very particular requests for his landlord, and try as he might, Charles cannot avoid being lured into Bennet's strange world. At first he resists, but soon he is tempted -- tempted to understand a set of codes that has always eluded him, tempted by the opportunity to understand the secret ways of white folks.

Charles's summer with a man in his basement turns into an exploration of inconceivable worlds of power and manipulation, and unimagined realms of humanity. Walter Mosley pierces long-hidden veins of justice and morality with startling insight into the deepest mysteries of human nature.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2004
January 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown and Company
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
507.6
KB

Customer Reviews

nanettespagette ,

Man in the cellar was Not What I expected

Riveting back story always provided a course forward throughout the story! Loved the personality of the main character!

Ti Ti-KCSTP ,

Ioved it!

It was different from the easy Rawlings novels which shows versatility!

Bobwa1955 ,

Man in my basement

Heavy. Reclaimations.....

More Books Like This

Debbie Doesn't Do It Anymore Debbie Doesn't Do It Anymore
2014
Blonde Faith Blonde Faith
2007
Earthly Possessions Earthly Possessions
1977
The Other Americans The Other Americans
2019
Left No Forwarding Address (for fans of Stieg Larsson, David Baldacci and James Patterson) Left No Forwarding Address (for fans of Stieg Larsson, David Baldacci and James Patterson)
2011
Enchanted Islands Enchanted Islands
2016

More Books by Walter Mosley

Devil in a Blue Dress Devil in a Blue Dress
2010
Down the River unto the Sea Down the River unto the Sea
2018
Little Green Little Green
2013
Charcoal Joe Charcoal Joe
2016
All I Did Was Shoot My Man All I Did Was Shoot My Man
2012
The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey
2010

Customers Also Bought

The Best American Mystery Stories 2018 The Best American Mystery Stories 2018
2018
The Elephant Keeper The Elephant Keeper
2009
A Kind of Freedom A Kind of Freedom
2017
The Missing American The Missing American
2020
Mr. Paradise Mr. Paradise
2009
Leaving Atlanta Leaving Atlanta
2009