The Marriage Season

A page-turning Regency romance novel from bestseller Jane Dunn

    • 4.5 • 35 Ratings
    • $1.99
    • $1.99

Publisher Description

‘It’s not a fair world I’m afraid. Beauty or fortune carries the day. You have the beauty and I the fortune, so there’s every chance we’ll succeed’

In Regency England, marriage is everything. For young widow Sybella Lovatt, the time has come to find a suitable husband for her sister and ward Lucie. Male suitors are scarce near their Wiltshire estate, so the sisters resolve to head to London in time for the Season to begin.

Once ensconced at the Mayfair home of Lady Godley, Lucie’s godmother, the whirl of balls, parties and promenades can begin. But the job of finding a husband is fraught with rules and tradition. Jostling for attention are the two lords – the charming and irresistible Freddie Lynwood and the preternaturally handsome Valentine Ravenell, their enigmatic neighbour from Shotten Hall, Mr Brabazon, and the dangerous libertine Lord Rockliffe, with whom the brooding Brabazon is locked in deadly rivalry.

Against the backdrop of glamorous Regency England, Sybella must settle Lucie’s future, protect her own reputation, and resist the disreputable rakes determined to seduce the beautiful widow. As the Season ends, will the sisters have found the rarest of things – a suitable marriage with a love story to match?

Sunday Times bestselling author Jane Dunn brings the Regency period irresistibly to life in a page-turning novel packed with surprising revelations, which all comes wittily, gloriously, good in the end. Perfect for fans of Gill Hornby, Janice Hadlow, Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and anyone with a Bridgerton-shaped hole in their lives.

Praise for The Marriage Season:

'Brilliant, sparkling and very clever.' Elizabeth Buchan

'Jane Dunn’s The Marriage Season gives all the immersive pleasure of Georgette Heyer’s brilliantly confected Regency novels, in a sublime alternative world of joy. Bridgerton look out!' Melanie Reid, The Times

'What a joy! I fell in love with the characters immediately, the storyline was brilliant, the descriptions of clothing, fashion and scene setting for that era were excellent' ★★★★★ Reader Review

'Beautifully written by the inimitable Jane Dunn.Her characters are so appealing you will not want to leave them. One of those books that you never want to end' ★★★★★ Reader Review

Praise for Jane Dunn:

‘Outstanding, perceptive and delightfully readable.’ Sunday Times Books of the Year

‘Jane Dunn has written a splendid piece of popular history with the ready-pen of a highly skilled writer, endowed with remarkable insight.’ Roy Strong, Daily Mail

‘Jane Dunn is one of our best biographers.’ Miranda Seymour, Sunday Times

What readers say about Jane Dunn:

‘Absolutely brilliant book. Easy, interesting and certainly a page-turner. Enjoyed reading this book so much.’

‘I loved this book, Jane Dunn writes with an insight into Elizabeths and Marys psyches that is mesmerising. I couldn’t put it down and was gutted when I finally finished it, at a loss of what to read next.’

‘One of the best books I have ever read. I have always been interested in this period of history and felt that this book and the way Dunn writes helps to bring history alive. Once I started reading I could not stop.’

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
January 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
415
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SELLER
Boldwood Books Ltd
SIZE
707.9
KB

Customer Reviews

wantokex ,

Couldn’t stop!

Love the story, felt the emotion, and looked up some of the older words that aren’t all in the current dictionary. The historical accuracy was spot on which I really appreciate. Dare I compare to Heyer?

raeleigh000 ,

Marriage Season

Well written story. Well developed and likable characters. Well edited. The pov of the two young men came through but I would have enjoyed having insight to the pov of the ‘older’ male character.

More Books Like This

2019
2020
2012
2020
2012
2014

More Books by Jane Dunn

2004
2023
2013
2024
2008

Customers Also Bought

2022
2022
2023
2018
2023
2023