• $7.99

Publisher Description

The national bestselling author of The Wolfe Widow presents another spine-tingling mystery featuring rare book collector Jordan Bingham and some Ngaio Marsh first editions worth killing for…

Jordan works hard to improve Vera Van Alst’s collection of classic detective stories. So when Chadwick Kauffman—heir to the Kauffman fortune—offers a very good price on a fine collection of Ngaio Marsh first editions owned by his recently deceased stepfather, she is thrilled to meet with him at his fabled summer estate, Summerlea.

The next day, Jordan and Vera are shocked to read that Chadwick has died in a fall from the grand staircase at Summerlea. But when the picture in the paper is of a different man, it becomes clear that the ladies are victims of a scam. And they’ll have to unmask the imposter fast, because someone is trying to frame them for murder…

Mysteries & Thrillers
September 1
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

rokinrev ,

Not the best of the series, but still good

‘One week earlier my life had been rosy. Beyond rosy. Perfect job, perfect living arrangements, perfect relationship with Tyler, all things considered. I had been secure and happy. And now? It seemed like I was the victim of a cosmic joke. Everything was falling apart. And the worst was yet to come.‘

In this, the fourth in Victoria Abbot’s Book Collector Mystery Series, the mystery author who becomes the metaphor for this story, and Naigo Marsh’s sleuth is along for the ride as Jordan Bingham, Kevin Kelly, Signore Panetone and Vera van Alst travel out to purchase a full set of first edition Naigo Marsh’s Books, and end up being the prime suspects in a real murder situation staged in part by amateurs who have no clue as to which way it is going.

This was not my favorite book in the series. The situations seemed contrived and the actions and reactions just didn’t allow for the entertainment factor the other books exude. This may have cleared up some backstory of Jordan’s past, but IMHO Abbot tried too hard. 4/5

More Books by Victoria Abbott

Other Books in This Series