The Meeting Point

Hilarious, heart-warming and uplifting – the romantic comedy of 2021!

    • 4.2 • 139 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

'An Unputdownable Romance! Wow oh wow one thing is for sure this book NEEDS to be made into a film!... I was totally swept away... Truly is a feel-good, heartfelt, inspiring and heart-warming... Once I started reading I couldn't put it down!' Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What if the Lift driver who finds your cheating boyfriend's phone holds the directions to true love?

'Who are you and why do you have my boyfriend's phone?'

'He left it in my car. You must be the blonde in the red dress? I'm the Lift driver who dropped you two off earlier.'

And with these words, the life of the brunette and t-shirt wearing Maya Maas is turned upside down. Having planned to surprise her boyfriend, she finds herself single and stranded in an unknown city on her birthday.

So when the mystery driver rescues Maya with the suggestion that she cheers herself up at a nearby beach town, she jumps at the chance to get things back on track. She wasn't expecting a personalised itinerary or the easy companionship that comes from opening up to a stranger via text, let alone the possibility it might grow into something more...

Come on this 5* journey to love, laughter and back again, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Josie Silver and Sally Thorne.

Readers love The Meeting Point!

'Fun, feel-good read. I breezed through this in one sitting... The romance had me swooning and I couldn't stop smiling. Need to find my own rideshare now :)' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'My god, how I love this book!... A must read... Obviously, a big, fat, shiny ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me!' The Artsy Reader, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'YA'LL!!!!! This was one of the most unique written plots I have ever experienced in my life! The Meeting Point had me in all my feels and even made my eyes leak! Ah-Mazing!... This is a book you do NOT want to miss!' @the_kentucky_fried_bibliophile,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Kept me up until 2am even though I worked the next day because I simply couldn't put it down' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Truly perfect and totally made my days better... Recommend this book to everyone! :)' Love My Shelf, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Freaking loved this book! It was such a comfort read for me! I could not put it down until I had read every word! It had such 90s-early 2000s rom-com movie energy and I was sold!... I loved it all... I will always have this on my shelf and come back to it time and time again' @kelleyleigh20, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I was hooked from the first page and didn't want it to end! You will love this book! Definitely recommend!' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Had a hard time putting it down... I loved the ending!... I can't wait to read more books by this author in the future!' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Wow... I don't remember how long it has been since I have been so vested in a book within the first few pages... Absolutely charming... This book is a big win' A Devine Read, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Just glorious... This was like a balm to my soul... Ahhh I honestly loved every second of this book! It's cute and so romantic... I just need like a sequel and then another one please!... Just easily one of my favourite romance books I've read! I think everyone who enjoys a love story needs to read this ❤' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'My new book in which I will compare all other romances against. This was absolutely the cutest story and perfect summer read... I found myself smiling throughout this book, I just loved it' @page_chapter_book, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2021
September 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Head of Zeus
SELLER
Head of Zeus
SIZE
1.8
MB

Customer Reviews

bezzzuyy12345 ,

breezy read

great book! it had me hooked, and smiling all the way thru!

Lucinda613 ,

Great read, I absolutely loved the characters!

This is the kind of book that takes your mind to places that your imagination didn’t know existed. I definitely will be visiting Carmel by the sea!

Resa228 ,

Intriguing Premise

What I Loved
The story's premise completely intrigued me, just as the telling of the tale thoroughly captivated me from page 1 until the end. I can imagine touring a beach town through text from a stranger and am happy to suspend disbelief that this wouldn't be a dangerous thing to do. It sounds like it could be a great deal of fun, actually.
Whether I loved them or didn't care for them, all the characters are well-developed and intricately layered, with their defining struggles standing out and shaping their current choices. This added a richness to the story and an intensity that went deep below the humor, popping up when relevant. With the feeling like you know each character you're introduced to, the town comes to life in a way that places the reader on a charming book vacation.
I loved that the ending is so predictable. Yes, you read that correctly but hear me out. Just as Maya likes to write happily ever after's for strangers she observes through the course of her day, I found myself invested in Maya finding her happily ever after, whatever that might be. The Meeting Point made me happy for all that is right in a world full of wrong, and that is a priceless quality in a book.
Characters
Maya is the main character. She travels to California to join her amazingly horrible boyfriend, David, only to discover that he left his phone on a Lift and can't be reached. The Lift driver, who finds the phone, ends up in a text conversation with Maya that enlightens her and makes her take a chance on a day in Carmel being guided on tour via texts by a stranger. I loved her adventurous spirit, but she drove me crazy at times with her inability to make hard decisions and to see what is right in front of her face.
Ethan is a romance writer whose next novel is Maya's story of that fateful day in Carmel. A friend told him about the story, and he is so inspired, he turns it into a novel. By far, he is my favorite character, as he remains cool-headed even when everything and everyone around him is in tumult. Not to mention that he is generous to a fault, always trying to find people to help other people in need. He is a solid character and steadfast in his devotion.
Reminds Me Of
It vaguely reminds me of my all-time favorite RomCom movie, How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days, in that it involves a game of deception and the hot and cold interactions between the main characters.

What I Wish
My only wish is that Maya didn't drive me crazy with her over-the-top focus on finding Max, which almost causes her to lose everything.
To Read or Not to Read
If you are looking for that one story that will make you look at the world in a new and improved way, The Meeting Point is where you want to be.

More Books by Olivia Lara

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2020
2021
2020
2021