The Men Can't Be Saved The Men Can't Be Saved

The Men Can't Be Saved

A Novel

    • 3.0 • 3 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

* A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF SUMMER 2023 * NYLON * THE MILLIONS * LITHUB DEBUTIFUL * AND MORE! *
       

“[Purkert is] a sharply funny observer of male foibles, 20-something angst, and the modern workplace.” —WASHINGTON POST
      
“A 21st-Century Catcher in the Rye that examines the ‘genius’ worship and toxic masculinity still dominating the advertising world today. [A] muscular novel . . . startlingly funny thanks to an unforgettable narrator [with a] Jupiter-sized ego.” —ESQUIRE

“I laughed more times than I can count . . . A phenomenal debut novel by one of my favorite writers.” —CLINT SMITH, #1 New York Times bestselling author of How the Word Is Passed
        

A knockout debut novel that tackles a haunting question: What do our jobs do to our souls?
       
Seth is a junior copywriter whose latest tagline just went viral. He’s the agency’s hottest new star, or at least he wants his coworker crush to think so. But while he’s busy drooling over his future corner office, the walls crumble around him.
        
When his job lets him go, he can’t let go of his job. Unfortunately, one former colleague can’t let him go either: Robert “Moon” McCloone, a skeezy on-the-rise exec better suited to a frat house than a boardroom. Seth tries to forget Moon and rediscover his spiritual self; he studies Kabbalah with an Orthodox rabbi by day while popping illegal prescription pills by night. But with each misstep, Seth strays farther from salvation—though he might get there, if he could only get out of his own way.
          
In his debut novel, Purkert incisively peels back the layers of the male ego, revealing what’s rotten and what might be redeemed. Brimming with wit, irreverence, and soul-searching, The Men Can’t Be Saved is a startlingly original examination of work, sex, addiction, religion, branding, and ourselves.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
August 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
ABRAMS
SELLER
Harry N. Abrams, Inc.
SIZE
2
MB

More Books Like This

Nobody, Somebody, Anybody Nobody, Somebody, Anybody
2021
Before and Again Before and Again
2018
Delphine Jones Takes a Chance Delphine Jones Takes a Chance
2022
Left No Forwarding Address (for fans of Stieg Larsson, David Baldacci and James Patterson) Left No Forwarding Address (for fans of Stieg Larsson, David Baldacci and James Patterson)
2011
The Drama Teacher The Drama Teacher
2018
A Question of Trust A Question of Trust
2019

Customers Also Bought

The Guest The Guest
2023
Small Things Like These Small Things Like These
2021
The Latecomer The Latecomer
2022
Crossroads Crossroads
2021
Fleishman Is in Trouble Fleishman Is in Trouble
2019
The Plot The Plot
2021