• $6.99

Publisher Description

Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2014
August 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Ecco
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Amy from MHD ,

A Good Read

Wonderful view into 17th century Amsterdam, beautifully written. A tragic tale that kept my attention.

Crittersmith ,

Surprising Historical Story

I really liked this story for its history and it's glimpse into the customs and morals of that period.
I thought this would be a typical country girl wins over sophisticated businessman and his family story. It is not! It is in your face, unexpected situations that the heroine has to deal with and survive. It's the old adage that things and people are not what they seem. The weak become strong and strong are very weak! I really liked this story because of the historical perspective and the surprising situations. I recommend this novel.

joszep ,

The miniaturist

A great read with a tragic ending!

More Books by Jessie Burton