• $6.99

Publisher Description

A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness

GENRE
Kids
RELEASED
2018
May 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Children's Books
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
9.7
MB

Customer Reviews

leen and leen ,

Perfect!

10/10 this book is addicting! And to be honest I was sort of blown away by Lucy’s math skills (she’s crazy intelligent!) I’ve never read anything like this before, so truly this book is one of a kind!!

Emmie 77 ,

🤩 🤩 🤩

I’m redoing this review; I had a different one but I changed my mind about this amazing book:
IT IS INCREDIBLY GOOD.
Read it and see! If you’re looking at this it must mean you’re interested in this book, so read it and love it too!!

wasabi_girl2020 ,

SOO GOOD

You should buy this book. I read the sample and in the same day I bought it! It was so interesting and I really would like a second book for this. It was truly amazing and I couldn’t stop reading once I started and finished the book like that! Really good book you should buy it!!! 😁😁😁

More Books by Stacy McAnulty